Haydn & Boccherini: Cello Concertos (2011 - Remaster)

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Haydn & Boccherini: Cello Concertos (2011 - Remaster) 48:45 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Cello Concerto No. 1 in C, Hob. VIIb:1: I. Moderato - Cadenza 9:31 96/24 Album only
2 Cello Concerto No. 1 in C, Hob. VIIb:1: II. Adagio - Cadenza 9:43 96/24 Album only
3 Cello Concerto No. 1 in C, Hob. VIIb:1: III. Allegro molto 6:49 96/24 Album only
4 Cello Concerto in B Flat: I. Allegro moderato - Cadenza 9:26 96/24 Album only
5 Cello Concerto in B Flat: II. Adagio non troppo 6:55 96/24 Album only
6 Cello Concerto in B Flat: III. Rondo (Allegro) - Cadenza 6:21 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

© 2012 EMI Records Ltd.
℗ 1967 The copyright in this sound recording is owned by EMI Records Ltd. Digital remastering ℗ 2011 by EMI Records Ltd.


Soloist: Jacqueline du Pre
Conductor: Daniel Bareboim
Orchestra: English Chamber Orchestra

This pivotal recording features classic performances of late eighteenth-century cello concertos, one by Haydn and Friedrich Grutzmacher’s 1895 arrangement of Boccherini’s work in B flat. The album demonstrates the enormous gifts of Jacqueline du Pre. Recorded in London in 1967, Jacqueline du Pre is accompanied by her husband Daniel Barenboim and the English Chamber Orchestra.

About the Mastering
Four engineers at Abbey Road Studios in London have remastered these historic EMI recordings from their original analogue sources for release in pristine hi-def. Between them, Simon Gibson, Ian Jones, Andy Walter and Allan Ramsay have many years of experience remastering archive recordings for EMI and other record labels. The process always starts with finding all of the records and tapes in EMI's archive in London and comparing different sources and any previous CD reissues. We consult each recording's job file, which contains notes about the recording made by the engineer and producer. For example, this sometimes explain why there is more than one set of tapes to choose from. All of the tapes are generally in good condition and we play them on our Studer A80 π inch tape machine, after careful calibration of its replay characteristics.

In order to have the best digital remastering tools at our disposal for the remastering, we transfer from analogue to the digital domain at 96 KHz and 24-bit resolution using a Prism ADA-8 converter and capture the audio to our SADiE Digital Audio Workstation.

Simon Gibson, January 2012