Here's To My Lady

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Here's To My Lady 1:06:02 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Superette 03:58 $1.49 Buy
2 Johnny Hodges 05:38 $1.49 Buy
3 Another Love Song 06:10 $1.49 Buy
4 Canadian Sunset 04:49 $1.49 Buy
5 Charles Christopher 04:56 $1.49 Buy
6 Butter 05:46 $1.49 Buy
7 Visions of Gaudi 05:33 $1.49 Buy
8 Yours Is My Heart Alone 05:19 $1.49 Buy
9 Blue and Sentimental 05:08 $1.49 Buy
10 Origins 03:39 $1.49 Buy
11 Here's To My Lady 04:55 $1.49 Buy
12 Waltz For Debby 05:20 $1.49 Buy
13 Just Us 04:51 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Phil Woods, the searing Alto saxophonist and clarinetist, calls his occasional expanded combo 'the Little Big Band. ' Here's To My Lady, the octet's first recording, offers up a hot band with inventive solos and big-sounding, imaginative ensembles. This is an album with no let downs.

Main Artists Phil Woods
Tommy Flanagan, piano
George Mraz, bass
Kenny Washington, drums
Phil Woods, clarinet, alto sax

Producer David Chesky
Executive Producer Norman Chesky
Co-Producer Bryn Chernoff, Billy Francis, Jill Goodwin, Lisa Hershfield, Didier Raxchou
Engineer Bob Katz, Joe Salvatto
Assistant Engineer Rick Eckerle, Dennis Ferrante
Editing Engineer Nicholas Prout
Mastering Engineer Nicholas Prout
Recorded December 20 - 21, 1998.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.

Here’s To My Lady (SACD268)
Chesky Records

Track Listing:

  1. Superette [Tom Harrell]
  2. Johnny Hodges [Phil Woods]
  3. Another Love Song [Phil Woods]
  4. Canadian Sunset [Norman Gimbel/Eddie Heywood]
  5. Charles Christopher [Phil Woods]
  6. Butter [Jonathan Davis/Jerry Dodgion/Ali Muhammad/Malik Taylor]
  7. Visions of Gaudi [Tom Harrell]
  8. Yours Is My Heart Alone [Ludwig Herzer/Franz Lehar/Beda Fritz Loehner/Harry Smith]
  9. Blue and Sentimental [Count Basie/Mack David/Jerry Livingston]
  10. Origins [Hal Crook]
  11. Here's To My Lady [Rube Bloom/Johnny Mercer]
  12. Waltz For Debby [Bill Evans/Gene Lees]
  13. Just Us [Hal Galper]

Genre: jazz
Liner notes by Bret Primack.

Cover Art by Brigid Kavanagh.
Photography by David King.
Art Direction by Aldo Sampieri.

"It's the perfect arrangement for his gleaming virtuosity. He couldn't have picked a supporting cast that was more understanding and impeccably reactive. They wrap beauty inside beauty. To make it even better, the sound is especially marvelous on this Chesky CD." - Jazziz