HIGDON: Piano Trio / Voices / Impressions

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
HIGDON: Piano Trio / Voices / Impressions 51:50 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I. Pale Yellow (Piano Trio) 7:57 44.1/16 Album only
2 II. Fiery Red (Piano Trio) 5:30 $1.49 Buy
3 I. Blitz - (Voices) $1.49 Buy
4 II. Soft Enlacing - (Voices) 6:20 $1.49 Buy
5 III. Grace (Voices) 5:05 $1.49 Buy
6 I. Bright Palette (Impressions) 8:43 44.1/16 Album only
7 II. Quiet Art (Impressions) 8:10 44.1/16 Album only
8 III. To The Point (Impressions) 3:38 $1.49 Buy
9 IV. Noted Canvas (Impressions) 6:27 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Jennifer Higdon’s philosophy in composing is simple: make sure the music communicates. It is her goal to write music that speaks not only to the seasoned professional performer, but also to audiences that come to this music with all types of understanding, from the first-time listener to the most sophisticated Classical connoisseur. For her, music is purely a reflection of life and should be enjoyed as such. In her Piano Trio, Higdon explores the relationship between sound and color, and the potential for such elements to convey different moods. The three movements of Voices depict contrasting states of mind, from highly agitated to serene. In Impressions for string quartet, the composer returns to the world of impressionist painting as her source of inspiration.

Jennifer Higdon's disc is equally poetic, in a more traditionally pastoral way with feet on the ground, still occasionally echoing the music of Aaron Copland. There's also a sense of antic comedy rarely heard in chamber music. - David Patrick Stearns, The Philadelphia Inquirer, December 2006