Holst: Suites #1 & 2, A Moorside Suite

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Holst: Suites #1 & 2, A Moorside Suite 51:35 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Holst: Suite #1 in E-Flat - 1. Chaconne 05:01 $1.49 Buy
2 Holst: Suite #1 in E-Flat - 2. Intermezzo 02:39 $1.49 Buy
3 Holst: Suite #1 in E-Flat - 3. March 03:15 $1.49 Buy
4 Holst: A Moorside Suite - 1. Scherzo 03:18 $1.49 Buy
5 Holst: A Moorside Suite - 2. Nocturne 06:48 $1.49 Buy
6 Holst: A Moorside Suite - 3. March 04:15 $1.49 Buy
7 Holst: Suite #2 in F - 1. March 04:18 $1.49 Buy
8 Holst: Suite #2 in F - 2. Song without Words 02:33 $1.49 Buy
9 Holst: Suite #2 in F - 3 .Song of the Blacksmith 01:23 $1.49 Buy
10 Suite #2 in F: 4. Fantasia on the "Dargason" 03:24 $1.49 Buy
11 Holst: Hammersmith - Prelude & Scherzo 14:41 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The Dallas Wind Symphony is the leading professional civilian wind band in the United States today. Comprised of 50 woodwind, brass and percussion players, the band performs an eclectic blend of musical styles ranging from Bach to Bernstein and Sousa to Strauss. They combine the tradition of the British brass band with the musical heritage of the American town band and the pioneering spirit of the 20th century wind ensemble.

The DWS makes its home in one of the world's greatest concert halls, Dallas' Morton H. Meyerson Concert Center, where it performs an annual concert subscription series. They have twelve highly acclaimed CDs on the Reference Recordings label under conductors Howard Dunn, Frederick Fennell and Jerry Junkin. In 1995, recognizing the Dallas Wind Symphony's importance to the community, the City of Dallas granted the windband use of the historic Fair Park Bandshell, both as a venue for summer outdoor concerts and as an administrative office.

Since its debut in 1985, the Dallas Wind Symphony has entertained more than a million people both at home and increasingly, on tour. Among those entertained was Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, for whom the DWS gave a command performance in March 1991.

Original music for band by one of the greatest of English composers. 126175|"...My God, what a lovely recording. If more sessions were recorded this well, reviewers could spend more time discussing the music, and listeners everywhere would enjoy music significantly more." - Stereophile 126176|"...some twists and some surprises....this is a superb one-man show from start to finish..." - Jazz Times 126178|"Whether you remember the popularity of bossa nova and samba, if you're a world music fan, or if you're just looking for an album that will just knock your socks off with its sheer beauty, then Mônica Salmaso's CD Trampolim is definitely worth seeking out." - George Graham 126179|"O Sol de Oslo blends the style and energy of the best of Brazil with top global musicians making this a unique melding of music. It is certainly the dawn of a new frontier for the multi-faceted, multi-talented Gil.Use this link to browse our entire collection of Gilberto Gil CDs." - Calabash Music 126180|"La Bomba de Loiza represents the African heritage of the Puerto Rican people that is not always mentioned, admitted, or known about by the general public or by its own people. La Bomba de Puerto Rico is indigenous to the island and is not an offshoot any other musical tradition of any other West Indian island. This CD features different styles of bomba such as Sica, Yuba, etc that are played throughout Puerto Rico." - Eric Depradine 126181|"'Bixiga' is a brand new release from Banda Mantiqueira, one of Brasil's most artistically daring and critically acclaimed jazz groups. Banda Mantiqueira will be a revelation for many jazz fans, demonstrating that sophisticated big band arranging, unique soloing and tight ensemble work fits perfectly with a strong Brasilian rhythmic groove." - Calabash Music 126182|"A brilliant musical raconteur, Taylor is simultaneously engaged in conversation with each member of the ensemble, in dialogue with drums and bass, commenting on a horn's phrase, offering new materials, and forging links between disparate threads. When the other parts fall away to solo piano, all the topics of the group discourse are still present, but with a sharpened clarity." - Stuart Broomer 126183|"Three important early pioneers of New Music make tremendous splashes on this anthology of works for the piano. Pianist Robert Miller opens the collection with three of Cowell's distinctive, swirling pieces, bowing the piano strings with a fury for sonic expansion. Miller also engages Cowell's unforgettable chord clusters, with their large, slamming intensity and rich resonance. He also takes on several of Cage's early Sonatas and Preludes for prepared piano and Nancarrow's influential, oddly virtuosic Studies for Player Piano, examining alterations in both pianistic tone and execution. Ben Johnston's lively, Cowell-inspired Sonata for Microtonal Piano rounds out this comprehensive overview of avant-garde 20th-century piano music." - Andrew Bartlett 126184|review coming... 126185|"This is arguably the most important recording of Charles Griffes's music yet made, for the breadth of selections it offers, and the commitment of the artists to the project.... For anyone wanting a single-disc introduction to this important American composer, there's simply no better choice." - E.L. Bivins 126186|"Technically a very clean album. It has a good selection of tunes, particularly for the history buff... worth the purchase for historical value and good production." - JT Kirkland 126187|"'3 Phasis' (1978) is considered by many to be one of Taylor's strongest. Cecil and his "Unit" play for just under an hour with balance, restraint and shape." - Music Outfitter 126188|"Both works, in their distinctively individual ways, exploit the infinitely rich varieties of orchestral color available." - No Man's Land Records 126189|Coming Soon... 126190|"This 'Piano Concerto' is, ex cathedra a real achievement for the Americana erudite dodecaphonic language. And as well its esteemed, a eudaemonia place within Babbitt's oeuvre... Repeated hearings are required." - Quinz 126313|"Sabsylma", released in 1994, was characterized by a growing number of "American" influences on the music. The album added a more polished, sophisticated and urban spin to the group's audacious musical mix, while retaining definite roots in traditional music from all around the world. 126314|...the most beautiful and consistently listenable compilation to come from David Byrne's label since his early best-selling Brazilian collections..." - Rolling Stone