Hornets Collage

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hornets Collage 1:10:52 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 2nd Degree of Light 6:25 $1.49 Buy
2 Fur 1:14 $1.49 Buy
3 In a perfect world 5:15 $1.49 Buy
4 For Her 1:09 $1.49 Buy
5 When she speaks she speaks 3:13 $1.49 Buy
6 You call that constructive criticism 13:54 44.1/16 Album only
7 Furious 1:12 $1.49 Buy
8 Alliance 2:16 $1.49 Buy
9 Cody and You 4:28 $1.49 Buy
10 Former 2:11 $1.49 Buy
11 Places 4:17 $1.49 Buy
12 Are you now or have you ever been 7:16 44.1/16 Album only
13 In Life 4:14 $1.49 Buy
14 Concerto for Guitar 3:39 $1.49 Buy
15 Put that hose away 3:54 $1.49 Buy
16 Sheridan Snow 2:57 $1.49 Buy
17 Furrier 1:38 $1.49 Buy
18 Last Love Song 1:40 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Hornets Collage, which features the first all-North American lineup on the nuscope label, is an exciting and varied affair. The disc includes renowned composer Scott Fields, who performs on acoustic guitar. Also featured on this disc are Vancouver-based clarinetist Fran├žois Houle and bassist Jason Roebke.
All three musicians composed for this recording, and collectively contributed to five well-structured improvisations. The material veers from lyrical to pointillist and everything in between. Even with this diversity, the musicians on this session developed such rapport that their sound is as coherent as any long-established ensemble.

Houle plays with an intellectual fervor not unlike Giuffre's, yet he's no imitator - his playing is cerebral but stimulating. Fields playing is like unto a cross between Ralph Towner and Roscoe Mitchell, and Roebke is elusive and ghostly. They play with a heartfelt delicacy and unsentimental tenderness yet completely sidestep sounding sterile." Perfect listening for rainy days, late-night reading, and somber reflection."