Hyperion With Higgins

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Hyperion With Higgins 1:10:37 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Dancing Waters, Big Sur To Bahia (For Gilberto and Caetano) 5:57 $1.49 Buy
2 Bharati 7:03 44.1/16 Album only
3 Secret Life Of The Forbidden City 10:07 44.1/16 Album only
4 Miss Jessye 10:26 44.1/16 Album only
5 Hyperion With Higgins 7:22 44.1/16 Album only
6 Darkness On The Delta Suite: Mother Where Art Thou - Robert Johnson On The Bank Of The Ganges - Pers 12:42 44.1/16 Album only
7 Dervish On The Glory B 8:26 44.1/16 Album only
8 The Caravan Moves On 8:34 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Volume Two of the sessions that produced the immensely popular "The Water Is Wide", dedicated to Charles Lloyd's lifelong friend, the drummer Billy Higgins, who died in May 2001. It is a joyous tribute. Where the previous album offered a programme of ballads the pace intensifies on "Hyperion with Higgins". Lloyd: "The idea is like with the old Southern preacher. You go low and you get high and then you catch fire". This second installement picks up the tempo. The jazz of "Hyperion" is hotter. Lloyd's tenor sax is fierier, John Abercrombie has much more solos space to fulfill as only he can, and Brad Mehldau's solos are also more outgoing.