I Struck Gold

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
I Struck Gold 46:24 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I Struck Gold [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 1:39 $1.49 Buy
2 I Cannot Sleep [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 4:41 $1.49 Buy
3 The One That Got Away [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 3:11 $1.49 Buy
4 Que Sera De Mis Hermanos [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 3:30 $1.49 Buy
5 Six Days With The Boss [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 2:57 $1.49 Buy
6 Tinky Winky [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 3:45 $1.49 Buy
7 Dignity [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 2:45 $1.49 Buy
8 Wal-Mart Union Gonna Rise Again [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 3:29 $1.49 Buy
9 Barney [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 6:19 $1.49 Buy
10 The Ballad Of Penny Evans [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 4:32 $1.49 Buy
11 Yanira Merino [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 6:48 $1.49 Buy
12 God Danced [Charlie King And Karen Brandow] 2:48 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

I Struck Gold is the much anticipated debut duo CD by Charlie King (critically acclaimed for his many fine solo records on the Flying Fish label in the 1980's) and his new musical (and personal) partner, Karen Brandow. Charlie and Karen's repertoire on I Struck Gold covers three continents, two languages and more than forty years of song selections -- performed here with sweet harmonies and vibrant musicianship.

I Struck Goldfeatures songs about love, labor and social justice conveyed with passion, sincerity and humor. Among the CD's highlights are the beautiful Malvina Reynolds love song "I Cannot Sleep" (with Charlie and Karen trading lines in English and Spanish), the exuberant title track, and "Que Sera de Mis Hermanos," a haunting song of exile about the US-backed coup in Chile. King and Brandow also perform songs poking fun at Jerry Falwell ("Tinky Winky", which turns dark with a pointed reference to the gay martyr Matthew Shephard) and a mishap at the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade ("Barney"). Two songs by the late, much-missed Steve Goodman are also included - the ruefully good natured "The One That Got Away" and the starkly tragic "The Ballad of Penny Evans."

Musicians featured on the CD include Charlie King and Karen Brandow on guitars and vocals, Len Wallace on accordion, fellow Appleseed Recordings artists Kim and Reggie Harris on guitar and vocals, and Brian Melick on drums and percussion.

"Exactly what folk music should be: