IBM 1401 A User's Manual

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
IBM 1401 A User's Manual 44:06 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Part 1- IBM 1401 Processing Unit 8:47 44.1/16 Album only
2 Part 2- IBM 1403 Printer 9:47 44.1/16 Album only
3 Part 3- IBM 1402 Card Read-Punch 10:38 44.1/16 Album only
4 Part 4- IBM 729 II Magnetic Tape Unit 7:30 44.1/16 Album only
5 Part 5- The Sun's Gone Dim And The Sky's Turned Black 7:24 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Jóhann Jóhannsson is an Icelandic musician, composer, producer and an active member of the country’s artistic community (as the founder of the Kitchen Motors label / think tank / art collective, founder member of Apparat Organ Quartet and also as a serial collaborator).

Jóhann’s stately and hauntingly melodic music has been quietly bewitching listeners for some time and his new album, IBM 1401, A User’s Manual - his most ambitiously-orchestrated composition to date – is sure to expand his audience still further.

Inspired by a recording of an IBM mainframe computer which Jóhann’s father, Jóhann Gunnarsson, made on a reel-to-reel tape machine more than 30 years ago, the piece was originally written to be performed by a string quartet as the accompaniment to a dance piece by the choreographer Erna Ómarsdóttir. For the album version, Jóhann rewrote the entire score, and it was recorded by a sixty-piece string orchestra. He also added a new final section and incorporated electronics alongside those original tape recordings of the singing computer.