In Concert - Vol. 2 Concertos

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
In Concert - Vol. 2 Concertos 1:10:53 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Rachmaninoff - Concerto No. 3, 1st mvt. 15:50 44.1/16 Album only
2 Rachmaninoff - Concerto No. 3, 2nd mvt. 10:16 44.1/16 Album only
3 Rachmaninoff - Concerto No. 3, 3rd mvt. 13:48 44.1/16 Album only
4 Weber - Konzertstuck Op. 79 15:51 44.1/16 Album only
5 Liszt - Hungarian Fantasy S. 123 15:08 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The three pieces presented on this CD were written by composers whose lives together span the entire length of the Romantic period, beginning with Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826), who flourished at the outset of the era, continuing with Franz Liszt (1811-1886) who was born fifteen years before Weber died, and ending with Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) who was born thirteen years before Liszt died, and whose work constitutes the last flower of Russian Romanticism. All three composers were also extraordinary pianists, equipping them the better to compose idiomatically for the instrument and exploit its most extreme subtleties. Each had very large hands as well. Moreover, all three composed their piano works for their own use on stage, and all three were conductors. Through their overlapping years, and their influence upon each other, we thus have a representative span outlining the great period of Romantic piano concertos from Germany, Hungary, and Russia. The three pieces in question, composed in 1821, 1852, and 1909, in vastly different styles, amply display the range of writing that we know as Romantic and give us a fair sampling of the Romantic piano and its orchestra.