J.S. Bach, Art of the Fugue

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
J.S. Bach, Art of the Fugue 1:20:39 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Contrapunctus I 3:52 $1.49 Buy
2 Contrapunctus II 3:00 $1.49 Buy
3 Canon alla Ottava 3:05 $1.49 Buy
4 Contrapunctus III 3:20 $1.49 Buy
5 Contrapunctus IV 2:48 $1.49 Buy
6 Canon alla Decima, in Contrapunto alla Terza 5:56 $1.49 Buy
7 Contrapunctus V 2:25 $1.49 Buy
8 Contrapunctus VI in Stylo Francese 4:02 $1.49 Buy
9 Canon alla Duodecima, in Contrapunto alla Quinta 2:47 $1.49 Buy
10 Contrapunctus VII 2:58 $1.49 Buy
11 Contrapunctus VIII a 3 4:59 $1.49 Buy
12 Contrapunctus IX 2:39 $1.49 Buy
13 Canon per Augmentationem in contrario Motu 4:55 $1.49 Buy
14 Contrapunctus X 2:52 $1.49 Buy
15 Contrapunctus XI 4:58 $1.49 Buy
16 Contrapunctus inversus XII: a) Rectus (XIIa) 2:20 $1.49 Buy
17 Contrapunctus inversus XII: b) Inversus (XIIb) 2:21 $1.49 Buy
18 Contrapunctus inversus XIII a 3: a) Rectus (XIIIa) 2:35 $1.49 Buy
19 Contrapunctus inversus XIII a 3: b) Inversus (XIIIb) 2:48 $1.49 Buy
20 Contrapunctus XIV 8:37 44.1/16 Album only
21 Completed by Bernard Labadie after Davitt Maroney 1:47 $1.49 Buy
22 Fuga a 2 Clav. (XIIIa) 2:41 $1.49 Buy
23 Alio modo, Fuga a 2 Clav. (XIIIb) 2:54 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

A 2001 Juno Award Nominee for Best Classical Album: Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment.
If you know only three things about the Art of the Fugue, they are probably these: it was the last piece Bach composed; he died before he could complete it; and, he wrote it as a purely theoretical work not intended to be played by any particular instruments. All three are misconceptions, however, born of Romantic and high-modernist clichés about Bach's career and the nature of his music, and propped up by outdated scholarship. But since these misconceptions linger stubbornly to this day, they are still worth refuting . . . continued in the CD booklet
- Kevin Bazzana

"The beauty of this work--and of a recording that features a variety of textures and colors for the individual fugues--is that you can sample bits of it or listen straight through and gain insight and enjoyment, as well as a renewed appreciation for Bach's awesome genius. And such listening sessions are made that much more pleasant both by Dorian's outstanding sonics, made in the ideal acoustical environment of Quebec's Le Domaine Forget, and by the exceptionally detailed, informative--and readable--liner notes."