John Prine Live

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
John Prine Live 1:16:53 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Come Back To Us Barbara Lewis Hare-Krishna Beauregard (Live) 3:12 44.1/16 Album only
2 Six O'Clock News (Live) 3:24 44.1/16 Album only
3 The Oldest Baby In The World (Live) 6:57 44.1/16 Album only
4 Angel From Montgomery (Live) 4:24 44.1/16 Album only
5 Grandpa Was A Carpenter (Live) 2:56 44.1/16 Album only
6 Blue Umbrella (Live) 3:23 44.1/16 Album only
7 Fish And Whistle (Live) 3:08 44.1/16 Album only
8 Sabu Visits The Twin Cities Alone (Live) 5:54 44.1/16 Album only
9 Living In The Future (Live) 3:53 44.1/16 Album only
10 Illegal Smile (Live) 4:24 44.1/16 Album only
11 Mexican Home (Live) 4:24 44.1/16 Album only
12 Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness (Live) 3:35 44.1/16 Album only
13 The Accident (Things Could Be Worse) (Live) 2:57 44.1/16 Album only
14 Sam Stone (Live) 5:13 44.1/16 Album only
15 Souvenirs (Live) 3:40 44.1/16 Album only
16 Aw Heck (Live) 2:41 44.1/16 Album only
17 Donald And Lydia (Live) 3:57 44.1/16 Album only
18 That's The Way That The World Goes Round (Live) 3:55 44.1/16 Album only
19 Hello In There (Live) 4:56 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

2 LPs on 1 CD.

Originally released as a double album, this 1988 outing presents singer/songwriter John Prine in concert before an enthusiastic audience. Throughout most of the 19-track collection, Prine is armed with only his acoustic guitar, raspy vocals, and charming wit, offering up both off-the-cuff tales and some of his finest songs. The Illinois native is joined by Bonnie Raitt on the gorgeous "Angel of Montgomery," and his longtime friend Steve Goodman sits in on the wistful "Souvenirs," but many of LIVE's best moments feature Prine alone, allowing his remarkable storytelling ability to come to the fore. Highlights include the amiably quirky "Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard," the humorous "Illegal Smile" (here a boisterous sing-along), the moving Vietnam War ballad "Sam Stone," and, of course, the thoughtful closer, "Hello in There," which stands as one of Prine's masterpieces. Although the two-disc GREAT DAYS compilation is the best introduction to Prine's studio material, this excellent album showcases the performer's charming persona in a wonderfully unadorned setting.

Q (9/93, p.102) - 3 Stars - Good - "...Jokes, philosophy and stories aplenty - what more could you want from American national treasures?..."