Just Before The Dawn

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Just Before The Dawn 1:01:07 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Spirit Of JAH 02:39 $1.49 Buy
2 Thickets 06:52 $1.49 Buy
3 Mudpie Anthem 08:07 44.1/16 Album only
4 Dance No. 1 06:19 $1.49 Buy
5 Flight 08:34 44.1/16 Album only
6 The Folksinger 07:23 44.1/16 Album only
7 Side By Side 07:11 44.1/16 Album only
8 Underground-Overground 07:23 44.1/16 Album only
9 Eliahu 06:39 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

This is an aptly named quintet. Reed player and composer Marty Ehrlich here assembles players who create a rich and woody resonance. In addition to the expected rhythm section he also incorporates a French horn and cello. The music eschews standard trap set drumming, favoring either no percussion or richly textured orchestral approaches. The opening number, "Spirit of JAH" is in memory of saxophonist Julius Hemphill, an important early mentor of Ehrlich's. It has the feeling of both a celebratory dance as well as the emotionally subtler shadings of funereal solemnity.

"These dark woods are both literal and figurative. The distinctive lineup emphasizes a 'woody' sound....The listener focuses more on Ehrlich's writing and on the ensemble's interplay than on any individual soloist....JUST BEFORE THE DAWN satisfies on several levels, and rewards careful listening." - Down Beat