Khatchaturian: Gayne (Ballet Suite)

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Khatchaturian: Gayne (Ballet Suite) 46:34 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Gayne: I. Sabre Dance 2:29 192/24 Album only
2 Gayne: II. Lyrical Duet 6:05 192/24 Album only
3 Gayne: III. Dance of the Rose Maidens 2:15 192/24 Album only
4 Gayne: IV. Gopak 3:09 192/24 Album only
5 Gayne: V. Lullaby 5:19 192/24 Album only
6 Gayne: VI. Lezghinka 2:48 192/24 Album only
7 Gayne: VII. Russian Dance 3:55 192/24 Album only
8 Gayne: VIII. Gayne's Adagio 5:07 192/24 Album only
9 Gayne: IX. Dance of the Young Kurds 3:38 192/24 Album only
10 Gayne: X. Dance of the Old Man 6:13 192/24 Album only
11 Gayne: XI. Fire 5:36 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2013 Countdown Media GmbH

The exciting, exotically colorful music of Aram Khachaturian’s ballet Gayne, highlighted by the ever-popular "Sabre Dance," seems to have been tailor-made for high fidelity monophonic and stereo recording and reproduction. Now newly recorded with the superlative Everest sound, this music becomes a positive phonographic showpiece.

No composer is as closely associated with the music of Armenia as is Khachaturian. Born in the Georgian city of Tiflis on June 6, 1903, he was the son of a poor bookbinder, who was unable to afford to provide him with much of an education. Not until he was nineteen did Khachaturian manifest an interest in music. He went to Moscow to live with his brother, who was it stage director for the Second Moscow Art Theatre. Soon he was enrolled in the school of music run by the composer Gnessin. There he studied ‘cello and theory, and eventually composition with Gnessin himself. In 1929 he transferred to the Moscow Conservatory, where his teachers were Miaskovsky for composition and Vassilenko for orchestration. He graduated from the Conservatory in 1934.

The principal compositions through which Khachaturian gained world-wide renown are the Piano Concerto (1938), the Violin Concerto (1940), the Symphony No. 2 (1942), the incidental music to Lermontov’s play Masquerade (1939), and the ballets Gayne (1942) and Spartacus. All of these works reflect the composer’s Armenian background and are colored by the unique melodic, harmonic and rhythmic characteristics of folk music from the Caucasus.