La Beata Olanda: John Come Kiss Me Now

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
La Beata Olanda: John Come Kiss Me Now 1:10:23 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The English Dance Master, Volume 1, 17th Edition: Nobody's Jig 2:27 44.1/24 Album only
2 Little Consort: Suite No. 7 in G minor-G major 6:35 44.1/24 Album only
3 English Dancing Master: John Come Kiss Me Now - Division Violin: The Jovial Beggars - Simeron's Dance 4:09 $2.49 Buy
4 Spanish Pavan 3:14 $2.49 Buy
5 The Broken Consort, Part II: Suite No. 2 in D minor-major 11:42 44.1/24 Album only
6 For Several Friends: Suite in A minor 11:49 44.1/24 Album only
7 Division Upon a Ground 5:05 44.1/24 Album only
8 Ground in C minor, Z. D221 2:55 44.1/24 Album only
9 For Several Friends: Suite in A minor-major 10:20 44.1/24 Album only
10 Irish Bouree 2:55 $2.49 Buy
11 Scots Rant 2:38 $2.49 Buy
12 Wallingford House 1:51 44.1/24 Album only
13 The Queen's delight 4:43 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields


Spirit meets pleasure - spirit needs leisure

This recording explores the connection between highly elaborated compositions for the English Court and simple but beautiful dance melodies. On this recording, these pieces are played mostly improvisationally by the German ensemble La Beata Olanda (lead by violinist Claudia Hoffmann). Works include suites, divisions and dances for miscellaneous instruments from Matthew Lockes The Broken Consort, John Playfords The English Dancing Master, and various other English sources of the 17th Century.

One of the most thoroughly delightful programs of Renaissance music that I've encountered in a while! The moods vary widely here because the idea of the program is to compare the stylized dance music of a serious composer”here Matthew Locke”with composers who catered more to popular taste, the chief representative here being John Playford, the Dancing Master. 132675|This is a charming recording of some slightly unusual pieces by the father and daughter duo, with very good ensemble playing and a fine and well-balanced sound quality."