Live at the Village Vanguard

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Live at the Village Vanguard 1:16:35 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bemsha Swing 8:28 44.1/16 Album only
2 At the Close of the Day 6:22 $1.49 Buy
3 Phantom of the Bopera 6:45 $1.49 Buy
4 Endless Stars 8:45 44.1/16 Album only
5 Swamp Thang 5:17 $1.49 Buy
6 Stuttering 5:14 $1.49 Buy
7 Some Other Time 8:10 44.1/16 Album only
8 Days Gone By 7:29 44.1/16 Album only
9 Miyako/Black Nile 13:40 44.1/16 Album only
10 I'll Be Seeing You 6:25 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Recorded in May 2002 at the legendary club in New York’s Greenwich Village, Hersch truly seems to bring the listener into the Vanguard with him, not surprising considering his reputation for compelling and immediate music. The disc begins with an engaging piano solo on Thelonious Monk’s “Bemsha Swing” before the bass and drums swing in. Five of the six Hersch original compositions on the CD follow, leading into the standard, “Some Other Time,” from Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne. Hersch plays his own “Days Gone By” before offering up a medley of two Wayne Shorter tunes, “Miyako” and “Black Nile.” The CD ends with “I’ll Be Seeing You,” another favorite standard, this one from Sammy Fain and Irving Kahal.