Love Call Me Home

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Love Call Me Home 44:25 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Sing About These Hard Times [Peggy Seeger] 3:26 $1.49 Buy
2 Poor Ellen Smith [Peggy Seeger] 2:41 $1.49 Buy
3 Hangman [Peggy Seeger] 3:55 $1.49 Buy
4 Careless Love [Peggy Seeger] 4:15 $1.49 Buy
5 Love Is Teasing [Peggy Seeger] 3:03 $1.49 Buy
6 Rynerdine [Peggy Seeger] 4:18 $1.49 Buy
7 London Bridge [Peggy Seeger] 2:34 $1.49 Buy
8 Loving Hannah [Peggy Seeger] 4:41 $1.49 Buy
9 Bad Bad Girl [Peggy Seeger] 3:30 $1.49 Buy
10 Logan County Jail [Peggy Seeger] 2:58 $1.49 Buy
11 Who Killed Cock Robin? [Peggy Seeger] 5:02 $1.49 Buy
12 Love Call Me Home [Peggy Seeger] 4:02 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

“I love new songs, yet I still find myself returning to the old ones,” Peggy explains in the CD’s liner notes. “Songs handed down to us by singers who loved and tended to them, as I love and tend to them for those who come after me. Songs that command my attention, not only when I sing them but during that coda of silence that always follows . . .” It is these songs that shape Peggy’s “Home Trilogy” of traditional songs, almost all of which she has never recorded.

It is not an idyllic world that Peggy puts before us. There are murder ballads (“Poor Ellen Smith”); stories of fidelity beyond the call of duty (“Hangman”); journeys into the supernatural (“Rynerdine”); tales of romantic betrayal (“Careless Love,” “Loving Hannah,” “Love is Teasing”); laments of the incarcerated (“Bad, Bad Girl,” “Logan County Jail”); and historical mysteries (“London Bridge,” “Who Killed Cock Robin?”). The two originals that bookend the CD are as topical but traditional-sounding as any she has written in her prolific career. The first track, “Sing About the Hard Times,” could be a 19th Century lament in which “Life gets harder every year / Those with the least have
the most to fear” before referencing jobs outsourced to Mexico while workers get drawn into an unpopular war. The title song closes the album – written for Peggy’s friend Christine Lassiter, who died of cancer, it is a tender and philosophical glimpse of a life winding down and then out.

Peggy’s clear, ageless vocals and crystalline performances on banjo, dulcimer, autoharp, guitar and piano are enhanced by the participation of her two sons by her late husband, England’s revered songwriter and activist Ewan MacColl. Calum and Neill MacColl, are not only co-producing the “Home Trilogy” but they also act as directors, chorus members and instrumentalists; daughter Kitty MacColl joins in on backing vocals and is co-designer of the CD’s booklet). Four friends from Peggy’s hometown of Asheville, North Carolina, join in with strings and voices on the opening track.

Peggy’s definition of “home” is broad enough to encompass her American birthplace; England, where she lived more than half her life and raised her family; club and concert stages around the world; her own physical body; and the traditional and topical music that has shaped her life and career. This is, indeed, an album that will call you home.

I must say my favorite songs on the album were the two new songs written or updated by Peggy. The first is the opening track "Sing About These Hard Times." It's a great song, and Peggy has chosen to bring this old chestnut up to date with a theme of how things are now. The other is the title track, a beautiful song dedicated to the memory of a friend who died of cancer. As I have said, Peggy has been around for a few years now, but she still sings superbly with a voice that has hardly aged one bit. She still has that magical quality that carries the songs, what I call a true folk singer's voice. The accompaniment is tastefully done, with Peggy playing five-string banjo, autoharp, guitar, dulcimer or piano. Also on this album she has her sons Neil and Calum MacColl on psaltery, high-strung guitar and backing vocals. Her daughter Kitty also adds backing vocals on a couple of tracks...This is a fine album from one of America's revivalist folk singers. She has seen fit to record the songs as handed down, sometimes with the original tune or arrangements that have altered slightly in the folk process. I thought this was a good idea, maintaining the American tradition, and I think you will appreciate it also." - Peter Massey, Green Man Review