Mertz: Guitar Duets

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit, 96kHz/24bit, DSD 2.8MHz & DSD 5.6MHz

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Mertz: Guitar Duets 59:55 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bardenklange, Op. 13 (version for 2 guitars) (excerpts): Unruhe (Restlessness) 02:45 192/24 Album only
2 Nanien Trauerlieder (Funeral Laments): No. 1. Am Grabe der Geliebten (At the Grave of his Beloved) 04:59 192/24 Album only
3 Nanien Trauerlieder (Funeral Laments): No. 2. Ich Denke Dein (I Remember You) 05:36 192/24 Album only
4 Nanien Trauerlieder (Funeral Laments): No. 3. Trauermarsch (Funeral March) 03:57 192/24 Album only
5 Mazurka, Op. 40 (version for 2 guitars) 03:14 192/24 Album only
6 Standchen (Serenade) 05:58 192/24 Album only
7 Wasserfahrt am Traunsee (Boat Trip on the Traunsee) (arr. for 2 guitars) 05:24 192/24 Album only
8 Grande Fantaisie Concertante, "La Rage" (The Rage) 06:53 192/24 Album only
9 Vespergang (Going to Vespers) (version for 2 guitars) 03:41 192/24 Album only
10 Barcarolle, Op. 41 (version for 2 guitars) 03:37 192/24 Album only
11 Impromptu 04:54 192/24 Album only
12 Bardenklange, Op. 13 (version for 2 guitars) (excerpts): Tarantelle 04:37 192/24 Album only
13 Deutsche Weise (German Air) 04:20 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2016 2xHD - Naxos
© 2016 2xHD - Naxos

Johann Kaspar Mertz’s duets are unusual for combining a guitar with normal string length and tuning, with a Terz guitar - a smaller instrument with higher tuning. The rare chemistry of the two instruments reaches high degrees of virtuosity in The Rage but it is Mertz’s colorful depiction of scenes and moods which commands attention. The three elegiac Funeral Laments are amongst Mertz’s finest and most expressive pieces



This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier before being recorded directly in DSD 5.6mHz using the Merging Horus/Hapi In and the dCS Vivaldi Clock.  All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. 


Each format (96kHz, 192kHz, DSD2.8mHz and DSD5.6mHz) was created using Merging Horus/Hapi A/D converter, calibrated to the required format, and a dCS Vivaldi clock  

2xHD was created by producer/studio owner André Perry and audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme.