Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Mexico 1:19:33 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 De Jaque, Sal, Gala Y Luna 7:42 44.1/16 Album only
2 String Quartet #1; Explosion 9:35 44.1/16 Album only
3 String Quartet #1; Relectura 8:54 44.1/16 Album only
4 Ramas 14:27 44.1/16 Album only
5 Uno 13:42 44.1/16 Album only
6 Espasmo Fulgor 10:24 44.1/16 Album only
7 Uy U'tan 14:49 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

This recording features six of the most inventive younger composers (born between 1957 and 1977) in Mexico's contemporary music scene.

* Irvine Arditti and the Arditti Quartet gave the first performances of many of these works for string quartet or solo violin.

* The works were recorded in 2002 during the first Radar festival, an ongoing yearly project of new and experimental music produced in collaboration with the Festival de México en el Centro Histórico, Mexico City's foremost annual venue for the arts.

* Juan Felipe Waller completed his studies with Klaas de Vries at the Rotterdam Conservatory. His work is a distortion of "Deja que salga la luna", made famous by Pedro Infante, a popular idol from Mexico's golden age of cinema.

* A distinctive aspect of Hebert Vázquez's work is his use of "mega-instruments", where he divides among two instruments (here viola & cello vs. two violins) a complex part that actually consists of the same idea or gesture. The String Quartet begins in near silence and ends with throbbing white noise.

"This is a truly magnificent selection of strong, well-written, uncompromising new music - get yourself a copy and you'll never listen to El Salon Mexico again." - Dan Warburton, Paris Transatlantic Review