Musique and Sweet Poetrie - Jewels from Eurpe around 1600

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Musique and Sweet Poetrie - Jewels from Eurpe around 1600 1:23:43 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Almain 1:33 $1.49 Buy
2 Full fathom five thy father lies 2:03 $1.49 Buy
3 Thirsis and Milla 3:15 $1.49 Buy
4 Come sorrow, come 7:17 44.1/16 Album only
5 Fantasia 4:34 $1.49 Buy
6 Shall I sue, shall I seek for grace? 3:00 $1.49 Buy
7 Go crystal tears 3:14 $1.49 Buy
8 Toccata 3:23 $1.49 Buy
9 Dolce tempo passato 5:15 $1.49 Buy
10 Eile mich, Gott, zu erretten 3:19 $1.49 Buy
11 Toccata 1:58 $1.49 Buy
12 Corrente 1:29 $1.49 Buy
13 Volta 1:31 $1.49 Buy
14 Quella vermiglia rosa 2:18 $1.49 Buy
15 Da l'onde del mio pianto 3:33 $1.49 Buy
16 Entree de luth 2:18 $1.49 Buy
17 Cessez, mortels, de soupirer 8:01 44.1/16 Album only
18 Que Philis a l'esprit leger 1:52 $1.49 Buy
19 Paisible et tenebreuse nuit 3:06 $1.49 Buy
20 Branles de village 3:23 $1.49 Buy
21 Fantasia 2:10 $1.49 Buy
22 Shall I strive with words to move 3:15 $1.49 Buy
23 He whose desires are still abroad 2:34 $1.49 Buy
24 Dost thou withdraw thy grace? 1:46 $1.49 Buy
25 Why canst thou not, as others do? 1:53 $1.49 Buy
26 Pavan 5:43 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $9.58

* Required Fields

A unique lute, built by Sixtus Rauwolf in Augsburg around 1590, was the starting point for this very special recital, which incorporates lute songs and solos by composers from different parts of Europe around 1600. Presenting a wealth of forms and national styles - from French airs de cour to Elizabethan pavans and examples of early Italian monody - the disc is a fascinating survey of the musical life of the time. But in the hands of these interpreters it becomes much more than that: Emma Kirkby and Jakob Lindberg, playing his historic lute, bring this music to life with incomparable immediacy. It is as if we were present when Shakespeare first heard Robert Johnson's setting of his 'Full fathom five', Ariel's song from The Tempest, or when Georg Schimmelpfennig, court composer to Landgrave Moritz in Kassel, showed the daughter of his employer the florid solo madrigal 'Dolce tempo passato', set to her own poem.

Some of the names represented on this disc are familiar to all: John Dowland, with three songs, and Heinrich Schütz, with one of his Kleine geistliche Konzerte, a setting of Psalm 70. Others, like Schimmelpfennig or the Antwerp-born lutenist Gregory Huwet, are far less known to the general public. But all of them created musical jewels, which Emma Kirkby and Jakob Lindberg - collaborators of long standing - have gathered together into a glittering diadem encircling a large part of Europe at the dawn of the 17th century.