Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition & Other Piano Works

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition & Other Piano Works 1:06:57 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade I 01:19 88/24 Album only
2 Pictures at an Exhibition: I. Gnomus 02:44 88/24 Album only
3 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade II 00:46 88/24 Album only
4 Pictures at an Exhibition: II. Old Castle 03:41 88/24 Album only
5 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade III 00:25 88/24 Album only
6 Pictures at an Exhibition: III. Tuileries (Dispute d'enfants apres jeux) 01:02 88/24 Album only
7 Pictures at an Exhibition: IV. Bydlo 02:51 88/24 Album only
8 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade IV 00:42 88/24 Album only
9 Pictures at an Exhibition: V. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells 01:07 88/24 Album only
10 Pictures at an Exhibition: VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle 02:12 88/24 Album only
11 Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade V 01:22 88/24 Album only
12 Pictures at an Exhibition: VII. The Marketplace at Limoges 01:23 88/24 Album only
13 Pictures at an Exhibition: VIIIa. Catacomba (Sepulcrum romanum) 02:20 88/24 Album only
14 Pictures at an Exhibition: VIIIb. Con mortuis in lingua mortua 01:54 88/24 Album only
15 Pictures at an Exhibition: IX. The Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba-Yaga) 03:07 88/24 Album only
16 Pictures at an Exhibition: X. The Great Gate of Kiev 04:40 88/24 Album only
17 Pictures from Crimea: No. 1, On the Southern Shore of the Crimea 04:02 88/24 Album only
18 Pictures from Crimea: No. 2, Near the Southern Shore of the Crimea 03:10 88/24 Album only
19 Une larme 03:06 88/24 Album only
20 Souvenir d'enfance 03:19 88/24 Album only
21 From Memories of Childhood: No. 1, Nanny and I 01:32 88/24 Album only
22 In the Village 04:03 88/24 Album only
23 Sorochyntsi Fair: Fair Scene (Version for Piano) 03:56 88/24 Album only
24 Meditation (Album Leaf) 03:57 88/24 Album only
25 Sorochyntsi Fair: Hopak (Version for Piano) 01:46 88/24 Album only
26 Porte-enseigne (Polka) 02:21 88/24 Album only
27 Reverie (On a Theme by V. Loginov) 03:57 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2019 Aevea Classics
© 2019 Aevea Classics


When the Russian designer and architect Viktor Hartmann died unexpectedly of an aneurysm in 1873, Mussorgsky fell into a state of profound depression. The two artists had grown close. A memorial exhibition was quickly planned, and over four hundred of Hartmann’s works were displayed. Some of the paintings and sketches exhibited were the source of inspiration for Mussorgsky as he set out to compose “Pictures at an Exhibition,” a suite of brief movements penned in June 1874 – three months after the exposition took place. Seemingly depicting the viewer wandering through the gallery, moving from one painting to the next, the piece has become one of the giants of the piano repertoire, and has been orchestrated by a number of composers, including the splendid version by Maurice Ravel. “Pictures at an Exhibition” is one of François Dumont’s warhorses. In the present album, alongside the celebrated suite, the French pianist offers a selection of rarely heard piano works by Mussorgsky. They hail from two very different periods – his early years, and the very last year of the composer’s life. They offer a glimpse into Mussorgsky’s pianistic skills, and are heavily influenced by Russian folklore and traditions. François Dumont’s career was launched by his success in major international piano competitions, including one of the top prizes in the 2010 Chopin Competition in Warsaw. He has performed in some of the major concert halls around the world.