New York Time

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
New York Time 53:06 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Newest Blues [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 5:46 $1.49 Buy
2 Sixth Ave [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 6:05 $1.49 Buy
3 My Shining Hour [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 5:29 $1.49 Buy
4 Notes In Three [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 5:32 $1.49 Buy
5 In The Kitchen [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 6:46 $1.49 Buy
6 Naima [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] $1.49 Buy
7 Grove [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 5:32 $1.49 Buy
8 Whisper Not [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 5:40 $1.49 Buy
9 Diane [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 6:06 $1.49 Buy
10 Mode For Joe [Christian McBride] [Christian McBride] 6:10 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

New York Time offers jazz fans a wonderful opportunity to hear two rising stars of the genre (McBride, Jackson) performing with two respected elders (Cobb, Walton). The past also meets the present in other exciting ways on this recording. The set is highlighted by several of Walton’s original compositions and a cover of the legendary John Coltrane’s “Naima.” Meanwhile, McBride’s acoustic bass talents are spotlighted on his self-written composition “Grove” (for trumpeter Roy Hargrove) and Jackson represents the new vanguard of jazz with his own tune titled “Notes in Three.”

Chesky Records’ world-renowned minimalist recording technique allowed the musicians to relax and the music to flow. “It’s always nice when you’re around friends. It’s nice when it’s a loose atmosphere and everyone is supporting everyone else,” Jackson says. “Very rewarding music can come out of such impromptu situations.”

New York Time is the third of seven titles to be released as part of The New York Sessions series. This new series features the greatest jazz musicians of today recorded with Chesky’s state-of-the-art technology. It also aims to spotlight new artists who are creating fresh opportunities for the music. All New York Sessions titles will be released as aggressively priced hybrid SACDs. Each SACD title will have a CD-compatible layer, as well as high-definition stereo and multichannel versions for SACD players.

Using Chesky's ˜one-mic' recording technique and the spacious acoustics of St Peter's Episcopal Church, NYC, the sound is as warm and as well balanced as the carefully selected program of material.