Baroqueswing Vol. II

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Baroqueswing Vol. II 1:13:43 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: I. Toccata (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 02:29 192/24 Album only
2 Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 566: II. Fugue (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 04:42 192/24 Album only
3 Orphee & Eurydice: Melodie (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:43 192/24 Album only
4 Invention No. 8 in F Major, BWV 779 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 01:00 192/24 Album only
5 Invention No. 4 in D Minor, BWV 775 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 09:56 192/24 Album only
6 Invention No. 13 in A Minor, BWV 784 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:35 192/24 Album only
7 Orphee & Eurydice: Ballet des ombres heureuses (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:58 192/24 Album only
8 Le quattro stagioni, Concerto No. 1 in E Major, RV 269 "La Primavera": I. Allegro (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 02:52 192/24 Album only
9 Le quattro stagioni, Concerto No. 1 in E Major, RV 269 "La Primavera": II. Largo (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:54 192/24 Album only
10 Le quattro stagioni, Concerto No. 1 in E Major, RV 269 "La Primavera": III. Allegro. Pastorale (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 04:25 192/24 Album only
11 Suite in D Minor, HWV 437: III. Sarabande. Grave (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:47 192/24 Album only
12 Prelude & Fugue No. 3 in C-Sharp Major, BWV 848: I. Prelude (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 01:38 192/24 Album only
13 Prelude & Fugue No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor, BWV 848: II. Fugue (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:49 192/24 Album only
14 New Jazz-Suite: I. Preludium -?Cello Suite No. 1, BWV 1007 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 04:49 192/24 Album only
15 New Jazz-Suite: II. Allemande -?French Suite No. 5, BWV 816 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 01:55 192/24 Album only
16 New Jazz-Suite: III. Aria - Golberg Variations, BWV 988 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 02:15 192/24 Album only
17 New Jazz-Suite: IV.Sarabande - Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring from Cantata, BWV 147 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 06:04 192/24 Album only
18 New Jazz-Suite: V. Chorale - Ich Rufe zu Dir Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 02:26 192/24 Album only
19 New Jazz-Suite: VI. Gigue - Partita No. 1, BWV 825 (Arranged by Charl du Plessis) 03:15 192/24 Album only
20 I Got Rhythm 03:02 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2016 Claves Records SA
© 2016 Claves Records


As one of the most unique and recognizable musical ensembles in South Africa today, the Charl du Plessis Trio has contributed to resurgence in the popularity of crossover music from Zeerust to Zürich, Stellenbosch to Shanghai. They have won major music awards including a South African Music Award (“SA Grammy”) and Ghoema Award for Best Instrumental Album. This trio frequently performs in Europe and Asia as well as at major music festivals in South Africa. Highlights include Grachtenfestival - the Netherlands, Musikdorf Ernen - Switzerland, and Standard Bank Joy of Jazz - Johannesburg.   

Formed in 2006 the scope of the Charl du Plessis Trio's musical diversity is what makes their endeavors truly unique. Performing in styles ranging from classical, jazz, rock, pop and even salsa, reggae and Latin they have recorded four albums: Trio (2007), Shanghai Brunch (2010), Baroqueswing (2013) and Gershwin Songbook (2015). This musical unit consists of pianist Charl du Plessis, bassist Werner Spies and drummer Hugo Radyn. 

Charl du Plessis is a prolific pianist and Steinway Artist with an extensive performing schedule who holds a Doctorate of music from the University of Pretoria under Joseph Stanford. He has performed on 4 continents, and his repertoire ranges from classics with leading symphony orchestras to jazz and pop. He has since appeared on the stage of the Berlin Philharmonie for a performance with Chick Corea in July 2015 and has been the collaborative pianist with South African star singer/songwriter Nataniël since 2000 performing in more than 120 performances per year.

Werner Spies studied jazz at the Tshwane University of Technology in Pretoria and is a free-lance bass player and teacher. He is a successful entrepreneur co-owning the Haloa coffee shop chain in Pretoria, South Africa. He has also toured Europe as bass player with South African singer Jannie du Toit.

Hugo Radyn is a specialist jazz drummer who studied jazz at the Tshwane University of Technology in Pretoria. He is a sought after drum teacher and is currently on the staff at Cornwall Hill College. He has made recordings for various projects ranging from CD, DVD and live radio broadcasts.

Highlights from the upcoming concert schedule include a live recording of the Trio’s first LIVE DVD in Ernen, Switzerland as well as a return tour to China.