Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Nocturnal 1:23:17 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The Honie-suckle 01:45 192/24 Album only
2 Muy Linda 01:22 192/24 Album only
3 The Night Watch 01:37 192/24 Album only
4 The Countess of Pembroke's Paradise 04:21 192/24 Album only
5 The Fairy Round 01:27 192/24 Album only
6 Go from My Window 03:20 192/24 Album only
7 Hugh Aston's Ground 04:47 192/24 Album only
8 Pavane No. 18 05:01 192/24 Album only
9 Mrs. Anne Grene Her Leaves Be Greene 04:52 192/24 Album only
10 Lady Margaret's Lute Book: The Flowers of the Forest 01:05 192/24 Album only
11 Remember Me at Evening 01:22 192/24 Album only
12 The English Nightingale 02:58 192/24 Album only
13 Lullaby (Arr. F. Cutting for Lute) 03:56 192/24 Album only
14 Nocturnal After John Dowland, Op. 70 (Reflections on Come, Heavy Sleep) (Arr. J. Lindberg for Lute) 17:48 192/24 Album only
15 A Dream, P. 75 02:41 192/24 Album only
16 A Fancy, P. 6 02:50 192/24 Album only
17 Orlando Sleepeth, P. 61 01:15 192/24 Album only
18 Galliard to Lachrimae, P. 46 03:03 192/24 Album only
19 Mr. Dowland's Midnight, P. 99 00:56 192/24 Album only
20 Farewell, P. 3 05:30 192/24 Album only
21 Passingmeasures Pavan 02:57 192/24 Album only
22 Carman's Whistle 02:22 192/24 Album only
23 Good Night and Good Rest 04:40 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2018 BIS
© 2018 BIS

One of today’s foremost exponents of his instrument, Jakob Lindberg arrived at the lute by way of the guitar and played both for several years. When he decided to devote himself exclusively to the historic lute repertoire it was with some regret that he gave up his first love. During his last year with the modern guitar Lindberg was working on Benjamin Britten’s Nocturnal after John Dowland, one of the seminal guitar works of the 20th century. Much later, when he learned that Britten had originally had in mind to compose a piece for the lute, he started to experiment playing sections of Nocturnal on his Renaissance lute, and soon decided to make a transcription of the complete work. Nocturnal is based on Dowland’s four-part song Come, Heavy Sleep, and inspired by this, Jakob Lindberg has placed it as the center piece of a recital with mostly Elizabethan pieces, many of which also evoke aspects of the night. Dowland himself is represented by a selection of six lute solos, while the opening section consists of five pieces by Dowland’s older colleague Anthony Holborne. The closing track is by Holborne’s contemporary, John Johnson, and bids the listener Good Night and Good Rest.