One Line, Two Views

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
One Line, Two Views 1:17:08 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Textures 95 07:14 44.1/16 Album only
2 The Prism 3 09:21 44.1/16 Album only
3 Hydepth 13:38 44.1/16 Album only
4 Tribute to Julius Hemphill and Don Pullen 04:10 $1.49 Buy
5 One Line, Two Views 11:59 44.1/16 Album only
6 11 over 4 12:05 44.1/16 Album only
7 Ensemble Song 18:41 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

One Line, Two Views features seven compositions for nine-piece ensemble by Muhal Richard Abrams. Works range from the subtle textural and tonal explorations of "Textures," "Hydepth," and the title track to the hard bop revisitations of "11 over 4" and "The Prism 3." The disc is rounded out by an ebullient, joyous, and celebratory "Tribute to Julius Hemphill and Don Pullen" and the blues-tinged "Ensemble Song." Abrams opts for unique instrumentation including violin, harp, and accordion. These unconventional additions to the standard jazz ensemble enhance the warm tones and full sound of this recording.

"...among the strongest of his ensemble works....Abrams devises unlikely instrumental combinations that always seem to work....[ONE LINE, TWO VIEWS is a] full-bodied work..." - Down Beat