One Step Closer

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
One Step Closer 1:07:25 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Modal Blues [Mark Sherman] 08:21 44.1/16 Album only
2 Little Lullaby [Mark Sherman] 06:49 $1.49 Buy
3 Moon River [Mark Sherman] 05:40 $1.49 Buy
4 Spiritual Exercise [Mark Sherman] 05:49 $1.49 Buy
5 Hope [Mark Sherman] 04:54 $1.49 Buy
6 Genkitively [Mark Sherman] 06:17 $1.49 Buy
7 My Princess [Mark Sherman] 08:00 44.1/16 Album only
8 My One And Only Love [Mark Sherman] 07:12 44.1/16 Album only
9 Ella Bella [Mark Sherman] 06:52 $1.49 Buy
10 Long Trip Home [Mark Sherman] 07:31 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

This CD is an eclectic mix of compositions by Mark Sherman, Allen Farnham, and a couple of ballads as well, with a good contrast of driven rhythms, sensual standards, and even a languorous lullaby. Sherman, on vibraphone, stands with the best for mastery of this challenging instrument, and Sherman, as composer and arranger, uses ingenuity in assembling both sax and trumpet for brassy textures.

"Mark Sherman plays vibes with a brash, sprinting edge and a declamatory, ringing sound. He's also a gifted composer who can place swirling, complex harmonies into a swinging format under catchy, even memorable melodies. He deserves a lot more exposure, and now, with One Step Closer, he's got a terrific record that will widen his audience considerably, if there's any justice There isn't a weak track on this album. Sherman is consistently inventive. His use of boppish grace notes adds unpredictability to his lines. Mark Sherman has delivered a winner." - Marc Meyers, All About Jazz