Penny Arcade

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Penny Arcade 39:53 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Rabbit's Foot [Birdie Busch] 3:13 $1.49 Buy
2 Water [Birdie Busch] 2:52 $1.49 Buy
3 Go Go Gadget Heart [Birdie Busch] 2:55 $1.49 Buy
4 Clemency [Birdie Busch] 2:46 $1.49 Buy
5 Hold Ya [Birdie Busch] 2:15 $1.49 Buy
6 Mystical [Birdie Busch] 2:38 $1.49 Buy
7 Wild Mountain Honey [Birdie Busch] 4:03 $1.49 Buy
8 Bender [Birdie Busch] 3:25 $1.49 Buy
9 Huff Singers (North Philly) [Birdie Busch] 3:31 $1.49 Buy
10 Sweet Somethings [Birdie Busch] 2:24 $1.49 Buy
11 Back Catalogue [Birdie Busch] 4:16 $1.49 Buy
12 Heel To Toe [Birdie Busch] 2:43 $1.49 Buy
13 Tombstone Store [Birdie Busch] 2:52 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The music of Philadelphia's Emily 'Birdie' Busch is natural. There is no pretense, nothing forced or processed - just delicate, beautiful melodies and deceptively simple lyrics that resonate deeply upon further discovery. If the first album was like peaking into a quieter world of journal meanderings and short vignettes, consider Penny Arcade a musical manifesto, with declarations covering forgiveness, mercy, mysticism, and beyond. Expect some pop culture references in songs like "Go Go Gadget Heart" and her interpretation of the Steve Miller Band gem, "Wild Mountain Honey". One of the standout songs is "The Huff Singers (North Philly)", about a gospel singing group Birdie met while waitressing at a gospel brunch.

"Hold Ya" trades in acoustics for a raw rock guitar sound and "Mystical" moves along with a catchy though restrained foot stomping beat. As a songwriter, Busch has a talent for succintly telling a nice tale: whether she's eulogizing a singing group in "Huff Singers (North Philly);" painting a picture of a dysfunctional family in "Water" or turning on an artist's repertoire into a metaphor for emotional baggage in "Back Catalogue." The cutesy act can wear thin, the saccharine "Go Go Gadget Heart" being the album's one cringe-inducing moment." - David Schultz, Earvolution