Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Quartets 42:55 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 One 5:28 $1.49 Buy
2 Two 3:47 $1.49 Buy
3 Three 4:12 $1.49 Buy
4 Four 12:09 44.1/16 Album only
5 Five 9:01 44.1/16 Album only
6 Six 6:46 $1.49 Buy
7 Seven 1:32 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

America's only possible answer to God Speed You Black Emperor has delivered their fourth proper album ('99s "Niagara Falls EP" notwithstanding), and a billowing cloud of phantom sensations it is, indeed.

On this voyage, the Ensemble consists of leader Michael Krassner (Lofty Pillars), Jessica Billey (SMOG), Michael Colligan (Pillow), Ryan Hembrey (Edith Frost, ex-Pinetop Seven), Glenn Kotche (Wilco, Jim O'Rourke, Loose Fur), Fred Lonberg-Holm (Terminal 4, Brötzmann Tentet, Concertina Wire), and Scott Tuma. An ethereal, drifting work in the spirit of the Dutch Harbor Soundtrack, The Last Place To Go & Two Brothers-, Quartets also features music from the Ensemble’s contributions to the HBO Film "The Smashing Machine".

What began in 1996 as an experimental coalition assembled to generate a film soundtrack has long since become a recurring spectral presence in our listening lives. We like to think of the Boxhead Ensemble as a ghost ship, adrift in an endless sea of inspiration & freedom- thankfully washing ashore every couple years... conjuring their otherworldly sounds for us, making music that refuses to be tied to any genre, place, or time.