Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 3 - Symphonic Dances

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 3 - Symphonic Dances 1:13:42 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 44: I. Lento - Allegro moderato 15:31 192/24 Album only
2 Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 44: II. Adagio ma non troppo 11:45 192/24 Album only
3 Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 44: III. Allegro 12:29 192/24 Album only
4 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: I. Non allegro 11:19 192/24 Album only
5 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: II. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse) 09:30 192/24 Album only
6 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: III. Lento assai - Allegro vivace - Lento assai - Come prima - Allegro vivace 13:08 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2015 2xHD - Naxos

This recording, one volume in an acclaimed series of Rachmaninov’s symphonies from Leonard Slatkin and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, features the Symphony No. 3, considered by the composer to be one of his finest works.  Both the symphony and the Symphonic Dances, his last work, offer a summation of his late style in blending intense rhythmic energy with rich romanticism

Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system.  In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors.  The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters.  The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier  before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock.  All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. 

DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal.


2xHD Mastering by: René Laflamme

2xHD Executive Producer: André Perry


“…the Detroit Symphony plays the music about as beautifully as it can be done and engineering is excellent…these performances are solid winners that will reward repeated listening”.



“Slatkin has a secure grasp in both pieces, finding sublime yearning wistfulness at the centre of the finale of the Symphonic Dances but harnessing vigour and bite for a thrilling conclusion…”