Raising The Bar

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Raising The Bar 45:07 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Part Time Love 3:54 $1.49 Buy
2 Breaking Up Somebody's Home 4:34 $1.49 Buy
3 Do You Mean It 3:31 $1.49 Buy
4 Cummins Prison Farm 4:56 $1.49 Buy
5 Mama Talk To Your Daughter 3:08 $1.49 Buy
6 I Can't Hold Out 3:35 $1.49 Buy
7 Shame 4:00 $1.49 Buy
8 Sunny Road Blues 5:36 $1.49 Buy
9 Gonna Move To Kansas City 3:42 $1.49 Buy
10 4:59 A.M. 4:08 $1.49 Buy
11 Treat Me The Way You Do 4:03 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

It's hard to believe that it was way back in 1990 when Magic Slim first hooked up with Blind Pig Records to record his legendary Gravel Road LP. Slim and his label are celebrating their twenty-year collaboration with the release of Raising The Bar, an outstanding collection of older and newer songs culled from Slim's vast repertoire. From R&B gems like "Breaking Up Somebody's Home" and Little Milton's "4:59 A.M." to Roosevelt Sykes' "Sunny Road Blues" and J.B. Lenoir's "Mama Talk To Your Daughter" to his own perennial crowd favorites, "Shame", "Do You Mean It" and "Treat Me The Way You Do", Slim once again proves that when it comes to complete mastery of the blues in all its aspects and truly genre defining power of performance, he has few if any equals on the scene today.
The title's meaning is double-edged; over the last two decades, Slim and the Teardrops have been constantly raising the bar for other blues bands with their consistently incendiary performances, and whether it's a college town tavern, out of the way roadhouse or international blues festival, patrons go home feeling like the joint was razed - Slim and the boys give their all every night.