Holst: The Planets

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Holst: The Planets 1:24:21 $22.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I. Mars, the Bringer of War (Allegro) 7:25 44.1/24 Album only
2 II. Venus, the Bringer of Peace (Adagio) 8:59 44.1/24 Album only
3 III. Mercury, the Winged Messenger (Vivace) 4:02 44.1/24 Album only
4 IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity (Allegro giocoso) 8:02 44.1/24 Album only
5 V. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age (Adagio) 9:35 44.1/24 Album only
6 VI. Uranus, the Magician (Allegro) 6:04 44.1/24 Album only
7 VII. Neptune, the Mystic (Andante) [with women's choir] 7:02 44.1/24 Album only
8 Pluto, The Renewer 6:12 44.1/24 Album only
9 Asteroid 4179 - Toutatis 4:36 44.1/24 Album only
10 Towards Osiris 7:55 44.1/24 Album only
11 Ceres 6:40 44.1/24 Album only
12 Komarov's Fall 7:49 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $22.98

© 2012 EMI Records Ltd.
℗ 2006 The copyright in this sound recording is owned by EMI Records Ltd.

Internationally recognized conductor Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker interprets Holst’s celebrated work, The Planets. The engaging listen vividly depicts the enthralling lyricism and dynamics of each movement creating spectacular dimensions. The release finds the extension of the solar system adding pieces by Mark-Anthony Turnage, Matthias Pintscher, Kaija Saariaho, Brett Dean and Colin Matthews.

About the Mastering
Four engineers at Abbey Road Studios in London have remastered these historic EMI recordings from their original analogue sources for release in pristine hi-def. Between them, Simon Gibson, Ian Jones, Andy Walter and Allan Ramsay have many years of experience remastering archive recordings for EMI and other record labels. The process always starts with finding all of the records and tapes in EMI's archive in London and comparing different sources and any previous CD reissues. We consult each recording's job file, which contains notes about the recording made by the engineer and producer. For example, this sometimes explain why there is more than one set of tapes to choose from. All of the tapes are generally in good condition and we play them on our Studer A80 π inch tape machine, after careful calibration of its replay characteristics.

In order to have the best digital remastering tools at our disposal for the remastering, we transfer from analogue to the digital domain at 96 KHz and 24-bit resolution using a Prism ADA-8 converter and capture the audio to our SADiE Digital Audio Workstation.

Simon Gibson, January 2012


"Rattle and the impeccable Berlin Philharmonic give it a lively and stirringly lyrical re-imagining." The Guardian