Ravel: Bolero; La Valse; Rapsodie espagnole; Debussy: Images for Orchestra

Available in Audiophile 176kHz/24bit & 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Ravel: Bolero; La Valse; Rapsodie espagnole; Debussy: Images for Orchestra 1:13:46 $17.99
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bolero 13:49 88/24 Album only
2 La valse 11:31 88/24 Album only
3 Rapsodie espagnole - Prelude a la nuit 4:39 88/24 Album only
4 Rapsodie espagnole - Malaguena 1:55 88/24 Album only
5 Rapsodie espagnole - Habanera 2:30 88/24 Album only
6 Rapsodie espagnole - Feria 5:58 88/24 Album only
7 Images for Orchestra - Gigues 6:35 88/24 Album only
8 Images for Orchestra - Iberia: Par les rues et par les chemins 7:00 88/24 Album only
9 Images for Orchestra - Iberia: Les parfums de la nuit 8:04 88/24 Album only
10 Images for Orchestra - Iberia: Le matin d'un jour de fete 4:26 88/24 Album only
11 Images for Orchestra - Iberia: Rondes de printemps 7:19 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $13.99

* Required Fields

℗ Originally Recorded 1956. All rights reserved by BMG Music
℗ Originally Recorded 1957. All rights reserved by BMG Music
© 2005 Sony Music Entertainment


Maurice Ravel (1875-1937): Bolero; La Valse; Rapsodie espagnole
Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Images for Orchestra (Gigues; Iberia; Rondes de printemps)

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Charles Munch, conductor

Recorded December 5, 1955 ("Bolero" and "La valse"); January 23, 1956 ("Rapsodie espagnole"); and December 16, 1957 ("Images for Orchestra")

Recorded in Symphony Hall, Boston MA

Producer: Richard Mohr
Recording Engineer: Lewis Layton
Mastering Engineer: Mark Donahue
Remastered from first-generation session tapes at Soundmirror Inc., Boston MA

The Ravel sessions were recorded to 2-track quarter-inch tape on an RCA RT-21 tape machine running at 30 inches per second. The Debussy session was recorded to 3-track half-inch tape on an Ampex 300 tape machine running at 15 inches per second.

The historic combination of Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony set the standard in the early days of stereo recording. Their RCA Living Stereo recordings are were well-received in their time and continue to be favorites of music fans and audiophiles. RCA's engineers were able to capitalize on the wonderful acoustics of Boston's Symphony Hall, and produced a long line of stereo spectaculars.

This album features the music of Ravel and Debussy, two of the most masterful Impressionist composers. Munch knew both composers and was very much at home in their music. The superb and sensitive musicians of the BSO were also up to the task.