Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1 1:10:04 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Alborada del gracioso 7:33 96/24 Album only
2 Pavane pour une infante defunte (version for orchestra) 6:34 96/24 Album only
3 Rapsodie espagnole: I. Prelude a la nuit 3:59 96/24 Album only
4 Rapsodie espagnole: II. Malaguena 2:04 96/24 Album only
5 Rapsodie espagnole: III. Habanera 2:30 96/24 Album only
6 Rapsodie espagnole: IV. Feria 6:27 96/24 Album only
7 Piece en forme de habanera (arr. A. Hoeree for violin and orchestra) 3:15 96/24 Album only
8 Sheherazade, Ouverture de feerie 15:59 96/24 Album only
9 Menuet antique (version for orchestra) 6:38 96/24 Album only
10 Bolero 15:05 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2012 Naxos

Orchestre National de Lyon
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Jennifer Gilbert, solo violin on Pièce en forme de habanera (track 7)

Ravel orchestrated his piano pieces Alborada del gracioso and Pavane pour une infante défunte to great effect; the former gains in suggestive colour, and the latter evokes nostalgic pathos. Another orchestrated work is the Menuet antique, which is redolent of old French dance forms. Rapsodie espagnole, Ravel's first major orchestral work, shimmers with expectancy and bursts into Spanish dance rhythms, themes he pursued in Pièce en forme de habanera. His earliest orchestral work, the 'fairy overture' Shéhérazade, is all that remains of a planned opera based on The Thousand and One Nights. The famous Boléro, an 'orchestrated crescendo' of undimmed power, has proved one of the most popular works in all classical music.

Recorded at the Auditorium de Lyon, France, on 2nd and 3rd September, 2011
Produced and engineered by Tim Handley