Reale: Seven Deadly Sins

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Reale: Seven Deadly Sins 1:05:10 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 7 Deadly Sins: I. Anger 2:37 44.1/24 Album only
2 7 Deadly Sins: II. Greed 3:17 44.1/24 Album only
3 7 Deadly Sins: III. Gluttony 1:59 44.1/24 Album only
4 7 Deadly Sins: IV. Sloth 3:35 44.1/24 Album only
5 7 Deadly Sins: V. Lust 2:57 44.1/24 Album only
6 7 Deadly Sins: VI. Envy 2:40 44.1/24 Album only
7 7 Deadly Sins: VII. Pride 3:09 44.1/24 Album only
8 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): I. Bartok 2:38 44.1/24 Album only
9 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): II. Puccini 2:56 44.1/24 Album only
10 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): III. Paganini 1:34 44.1/24 Album only
11 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): IV. Webern 1:35 44.1/24 Album only
12 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): V. Corelli 1:37 44.1/24 Album only
13 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): VI. Ives 2:20 44.1/24 Album only
14 Composers' Reminiscences (2009 version): VII. Haydn 1:59 44.1/24 Album only
15 Violin Sonata, "Celtic Wedding": I. Molto energico ma moderato 6:20 44.1/24 Album only
16 Violin Sonata, "Celtic Wedding": II. Entr'acte A 1:31 44.1/24 Album only
17 Violin Sonata, "Celtic Wedding": III. Adagio 8:04 44.1/24 Album only
18 Violin Sonata, "Celtic Wedding": IV. Entr'acte B 1:56 44.1/24 Album only
19 Violin Sonata, "Celtic Wedding": V. Finale 6:21 44.1/24 Album only
20 Holiday Suite: I. Thanksgiving 1:34 44.1/24 Album only
21 Holiday Suite: II. Christmas 2:48 44.1/24 Album only
22 Holiday Suite: III. New Year 1:43 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2014 Naxos

Paul Reale (b. 1943):
Seven Deadly Sins
Composers' Reminiscences
Sonata for Violin and Piano, 'Celtic Wedding"
Holiday Suite

Jessica Mathaes, violin
Colette Valentine, piano 

The traditional vices as enumerated by Dante in Purgatorio of The Divine Comedy can really be thought about in two ways: they can either be considered mortal transgressions which corrupt the perfection of ideal human nature, or they can be thought of as extensions of nature that represent typical human extreme behavior. In creating Seven Deadly Sins, Reale has drawn upon this dichotomy as well as external reactions to these altered emotional states. Seven Deadly Sins was written in 2009 for Jessica Mathaes as part of this recorded collection.

Composers’ Reminiscences is Reale’s stylistic impression of seven iconic composers, while the ‘Celtic Wedding’ Sonata is part of a series inspired by Anglo-Celtic folk melodies. Based on familiar holiday tunes, the Holiday Suite is ‘good time music…devoid of pretension’. Soloist Jessica Mathaes is considered ‘a violinist like no other’ by The New York Times. All of the tracks on this album are world premiere recordings.

Recorded July 27-30, 2012 at KUHA Studios Public Radio in Houston, TX.

Producer: Jessica Mathaes
Recording engineer: Todd Hulslander