Rhymes With Silver

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Rhymes With Silver 50:56 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Prelude 06:03 $1.49 Buy
2 Allegro 05:08 $1.49 Buy
3 Scherzo 04:15 $1.49 Buy
4 Ductia 05:35 $1.49 Buy
5 Gigue & Musette 03:54 $1.49 Buy
6 Chromatic Rhapsody 05:49 $1.49 Buy
7 Romantic Waltz 02:13 $1.49 Buy
8 Fox Trot 02:40 $1.49 Buy
9 Threnody 04:19 $1.49 Buy
10 In Honor Of Prince Kantemir 03:32 $1.49 Buy
11 Five-Tone Kit 03:35 $1.49 Buy
12 Round Dance 03:53 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

This recording features Joan Jeanrenaud, the cellist for the Kronos Quartet for 20 years, in her first soloist recording, with the Abel, Steinberg, Winant Trio, and Benjamin Simon, violist for the Stanford Quartet. Rhymes With Silver was commissioned by Mark Morris for Yo-Yo Ma, and was premiered in 1997. The Mark Morris Group has toured the dance version of this piece across North America and Europe. This recording is the concert version, and was produced by Lou Harrison, in July, 2000. The work itself melds baroque with Javanese cadences, twentieth century dance forms, and strains of the mid 20th century avant garde.

Rhymes with Silver is in 12 movements; The New Albion recording is as close to the source as you can get. Harrison spent 12 hours in total concentration supervising this performance, and wrote the short liner notes. The Harrison-supervised ensemble, with its definitive connection to the source, not only engages more on visceral levels, but touches deeper emotionally. While the multiple recorded premieres by the Tammittams make their homage essential listening, the definitive rendition of Rhymes with Silver by the world class CA-based players makes the New Albion recording a must have. - Jason Serinus