The Magic Whip

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Magic Whip 51:23 $19.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Lonesome Street 04:23 44.1/24 Album only
2 New World Towers 04:04 44.1/24 Album only
3 Go Out 04:40 44.1/24 Album only
4 Ice Cream Man 03:25 44.1/24 Album only
5 Thought I Was A Spaceman 06:16 44.1/24 Album only
6 I Broadcast 02:52 44.1/24 Album only
7 My Terracotta Heart 04:05 44.1/24 Album only
8 There Are Too Many Of Us 04:25 44.1/24 Album only
9 Ghost Ship 04:59 44.1/24 Album only
10 Pyongyang 05:27 44.1/24 Album only
11 Ong Ong 03:09 44.1/24 Album only
12 Mirrorball 03:38 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $19.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2015 The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Blur (2015), under exclusive licence to Parlophone Records Ltd, a Warner Music Group Company © 2015 Blur (2015), under exclusive licence to Parlophone Records Ltd, a Warner Music Group Company


The new album from Blur, titled The Magic Whip, started life in Hong Kong when the band had an unexpected break in touring in May 2013. It is released by Parlophone Records on 27rd April 2015 - 16 years since 13, the band's last record as a four-piece. The recordings for the band's eighth studio album began in Spring 2013 at Avon Studios in Kowloon. Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James and Dave Rowntree spent 5 days jamming together and carried on with their live dates while the recordings were put aside and the group finished touring and returned to their respective lives. Dave resumed his day job as a lawyer and Alex returned home to his farm in Oxfordshire from where he writes a regular farming column in The Telegraph and hosts the annual food and music festival The Big Feastival with Jamie Oliver. Graham, who has released eight critically acclaimed solo albums to date, continued to work on his own material and, in 2014, Damon released his Mercury-nominated debut solo album ‘Everyday Robots'.Then, in November last year, Graham revisited the tracks and, drafting in Blur's early producer Stephen Street (Leisure, Modern Life is Rubbish, Parklife, The Great Escape, Blur), he worked with the band on the material. Damon then added lyrics and the 12 tracks on The Magic Whip is the result.