Rorem: Winter Pages; Bright Music

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Rorem: Winter Pages; Bright Music 51:40 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Winter Pages: A Mirror 00:48 $1.49 Buy
2 Winter Pages: The sun that brief December day 03:20 $1.49 Buy
3 Winter Pages: Around the house the flakes fly faster 02:35 $1.49 Buy
4 Winter Pages: Paris then 01:50 $1.49 Buy
5 Winter Pages: Dorchester Avenue 01:46 $1.49 Buy
6 Winter Pages: Hesitations 01:50 $1.49 Buy
7 Winter Pages: Urged by earnest violins 07:12 44.1/16 Album only
8 Winter Pages: Moments fly by like a snowstorm 01:53 $1.49 Buy
9 Winter Pages: Rue des Saints-Pères 01:26 $1.49 Buy
10 Winter Pages: Valse Oubliée 01:59 $1.49 Buy
11 Winter Pages: Stone Snowballs 03:00 $1.49 Buy
12 Winter Pages: Still Life 02:43 $1.49 Buy
13 Bright Music: Fandango 04:01 $1.49 Buy
14 Bright Music: Pierrot 02:21 $1.49 Buy
15 Bright Music: Dance-Song-Dance 06:10 $1.49 Buy
16 Bright Music: Another Dream 07:49 44.1/16 Album only
17 Bright Music: Chopin 00:57 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

These two quintets, composed six years apart in the 1980s, each respond to their commissioners' practical needs. Early in 1987 when flutist Marya Martin, cofounder of the Bridgehampton Chamber Music Festival, approached me about a piece for herself and her four colleagues--violinists Ida and Ani Kavafian, cellist Fred Sherry, and pianist André-Michel Schub--specifying that it last from 20 to 25 minutes, I was intrigued by the unprecedented mixture of instruments. When Marya added that an auspicious premiere would take place in Bridgehampton during July of 1988, with three more performances the following March at the Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society in New
York, the intrigue turned to ambition. I composed the 22-minute, five-movement work, in New York and Nantucket, between July and December 1987, and called it Bright Music.

The ''Fandango'' is eccentric in a way that only Rorem could have imagined”it is intended, of all things, to evoke ''a rat in an ashcan'', which it does with a crazy mazurka in the middle. The fourth movement, ''Another Dream'' shows Rorem as a true melodist somehow liberated when not tied to texts. The performers respond well to grateful writing, but the recording is close enough to include breaths from the players, especially at the more demanding moments. - Gramophone