Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Run 55:32 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Run [Old School Freight Train] 5:02 $1.49 Buy
2 Lookee Here [Old School Freight Train] 3:03 $1.49 Buy
3 Drama Queen [Old School Freight Train] 5:06 $1.49 Buy
4 Supersition [Old School Freight Train] 3:25 $1.49 Buy
5 Tango Chutney [Old School Freight Train] 5:45 $1.49 Buy
6 Broken Pieces [Old School Freight Train] 4:09 $1.49 Buy
7 Mr. Parshif's Jig [Old School Freight Train] 4:21 $1.49 Buy
8 Louisiana 1927 [Old School Freight Train] 3:43 $1.49 Buy
9 Trick Dog [Old School Freight Train] 5:28 $1.49 Buy
10 Henry Brown [Old School Freight Train] 3:24 $1.49 Buy
11 Euridice [Old School Freight Train] 8:05 44.1/16 Album only
12 Dance [Old School Freight Train] 4:01 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Acoustic Disc proudly announces the arrival of Old School Freight Train (OSFT) and their exciting debut recording, Run. This dynamic young band from Charlottesville, Virginia, creates an innovative style that is a force to reckon with in the world of contemporary acoustic music. Combining thought-provoking lyrics with captivating melodies, soulful vocals, virtuosic instrumentals and imaginative arrangements, OSFT offers a unique musical experience that speaks far beyond their years.

Old School Freight Train is comprised of the distinctly smooth vocals and songwriting talent of guitarist Jesse Harper, the ecstatic mandolin stylings of Pete Frostic, Ben Krakauer's jazzy 5-string banjo finesse, the poetic fiddling of Nate Leath and backbone upright bass of Darrell Muller. Their synergistic interaction and contagious musical passion has made them the new acoustic band to watch.

Run is produced by Acoustic Disc founder and mandolin master David Grisman, whom upon hearing OSFT was left with quite the first impression: "After forty years of recording acoustic music, itís not very often that a new band catches-and keeps-my attention. Old School Freight Train has done that and more."

The twelve tracks on Run span a broad spectrum of contemporary styles. The pop-driven title track kicks off the disc with a rolling groove and inspired solos that will have heads turning and feet dancing. Harperís introspective vocals shine on "Drama Queen," "Broken Pieces" and crowd favorite "Dance." R&B meets old-time music with their infectious take on Stevie Wonderís "Superstition" and their rendition of the Randy Newman classic "Louisiana 1927" is captivating. "Henry Brown" has natural appeal for bluegrass lovers, as does the rapid fire "Lookee Here." On the instrumental side, OSFT get to show their stuff with the exotic "Tango Chutney," the Celtic flavored anthem "Mr. Parshifís Jig," "Trick Dog," a mando-cello tour de force and "Euridice," a sultry bossa nova which features producer Grisman on mandolin and Joe Craven from Grismanís Quintet on percussion.

Run is a new acoustic work of the highest order that embraces both quality and accessibility. You're destined to like it.

"OSFT's influences range from Van Morrison and Brad Mehldau to artists covered on Run including Stevie Wonder and Randy Newman, though their unique combination of styles can most accurately be described as the probable future of bluegrass." - Jess Novak, The Breeze