Scarlatti: Sonatas

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Scarlatti: Sonatas 39:56 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Sonata K 126 in C minor 2:56 $2.49 Buy
2 Sonata K 450 in G minor 2:11 $2.49 Buy
3 Sonata K 108 in G minor 2:02 $2.49 Buy
4 Sonata K 384 in C major 2:47 $2.49 Buy
5 Sonata K 406 in C major 2:00 $2.49 Buy
6 Sonata K 69 in F minor 2:47 $2.49 Buy
7 Sonata K 518 in F major 3:02 $2.49 Buy
8 Sonata K 519 in F minor 2:00 $2.49 Buy
9 Sonata K 434 in F major 2:51 $2.49 Buy
10 Sonata K 278 in D major 1:29 $2.49 Buy
11 Sonata K 402 in E minor 5:40 $2.49 Buy
12 Sonata K 403 in E major 2:17 $2.49 Buy
13 Sonata K 206 in E major 5:16 $2.49 Buy
14 Sonata K 202 in B flat major 2:38 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

Matchless Artistry
Piano artistry at its finest and purest: Christian Zacharias interprets the sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti with a feathery lightness other pianists would find difficult to match. Zacharias, who has already brought out new sound aspects from Mozart and Schumann for MDG, now performs more music for close hearing.

Keyboard Specialist
If there was a specialist among the musical personalities of the Bach era, then that musician was Domenico Scarlatti. He dedicated almost thirty years of his life exclusively to the composition of sonatas for keyboard instruments and wrote them for one person, the Portuguese princess and later Spanish queen Maria Barbara. In the seclusion of the Madrid court he composed over 550 works for his patroness.

Spanish Inspiration
Scarlatti's compositions owe a good deal of their inspiration to his new Spanish home. In contrast to his contemporaries, he did not polish folkloric elements but retained their exotic color. The castanet or drum accompaniment of Spanish dances, of the fandango or cante jondo, occur again and again in his sonatas.

Harpsichord Possession
Scarlatti lived for the harpsichord, and his contemporaries reacted with similar enthusiasm to his music. The musicologist Charles Burney wrote of the "Paganini of the harpsichord": "Ten hundred devils! I never have heard such passages of execution and effect before."

Perfection Itself
Christian Zacharias, who was born in India in 1950, doubtless numbers among the world's top pianists. This master designer of musical snapshots knows how to link the most different spheres of the artistic work world in his roles as a pianist, educator, conductor, and scholar. His collaboration with MDG began with Schubert's Trout Quintet, which he recorded together with the Leipzig String Quartet: "One of the finest Schubert recordings on the market" (Fanfare). In an interpretive comparison of 17 (!) recordings Répertoire awarded this release the first prize: "The most highly recommendable!" Répertoire also characterized the Mozart and Schumann recordings as "perfection itself."