Serene Renegade

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Serene Renegade 1:04:51 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Red Shoes 06:20 $1.49 Buy
2 The South Is Mine 07:12 44.1/16 Album only
3 Autobiography 04:51 $1.49 Buy
4 Wishes 06:32 $1.49 Buy
5 Pause 05:06 $1.49 Buy
6 Hard Day's Night 05:36 $1.49 Buy
7 Lover Man Oh Where Can You Be 05:43 $1.49 Buy
8 Many Years Ago 06:18 $1.49 Buy
9 Little Girl 05:30 $1.49 Buy
10 Rufast Daliarg 04:11 $1.49 Buy
11 Ode To A Flower 07:32 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The fourth album by Virginia-born, Atlanta-based jazz vocalist/songwriter Rene Marie is her most quirky and idiosyncratic set yet, and therefore possibly the one truest to herself. Marie wrote nine of the 11 songs herself, the two covers being the unexpected pairing of the standard "Lover Man" (most often associated with Billie Holiday, a singer Marie otherwise has little in common with) and, of all things, a West Coast cool ballad version of "A Hard Day's Night" featuring an extended bass solo. On the originals, Marie channels elements of Ran Blake (the Boston-based pianist whose cerebral deconstructions of cool jazz Marie's own solos occasionally recall), Nina Simone (especially on the startlingly direct, partially a cappella closer, "Ode to a Flower"), and even Joni Mitchell's mid- to late-'70s work. The opening "Red Shoes," a song of sisterly celebration, would not sound out of place on Mitchell's Hejira, or on one of Carla Bley's more straightforward albums. Although she's a canny arranger and an exceedingly talented piano player (talents exhibited on the witty, samba-fied "Rufast Daliarg"), Rene Marie is first and foremost a singer, and it's the warmth of her voice, which matches crisp diction la Simone with the husky sensuality of a Nancy Wilson, that makes the aptly titled Serene Renegade so appealing.

"Stunning. Simply, utterly, stunning." - Jazz Times