Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Shine! 46:45 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Esre! 2:33 $1.49 Buy
2 Sonhouse 4:10 $1.49 Buy
3 Conjuration of Angles 3:44 $1.49 Buy
4 Marco Polo 3:56 $1.49 Buy
5 Shine! 3:16 $1.49 Buy
6 Laughing Bell 3:15 $1.49 Buy
7 East Boogie (Kolby's Theme) 4:40 $1.49 Buy
8 Ephraim 4:31 $1.49 Buy
9 Angel 5:12 $1.49 Buy
10 Teo (Ted's Theme) 5:14 $1.49 Buy
11 Se'lah 4:04 $1.49 Buy
12 Variation 2:10 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

JD Allen - saxophone
Gregg August - acoustic bass
Rudy Royston - drums

"The notion of jazz music being equal measures of construction and deconstruction of musical elements is well heeded. Development of a compatible group of musicians and the assembly of the harmonic and melodic elements to create a tune are both important examples of construction in jazz.
Deconstruction can be just as stimulating by subverting elements at will and allowing the musicians the freedom to express themselves without a script. Saxophonist JD Allen has done his best to bridge the gap between the two on his new recording Shine! He has done so by taking his crack trio, featuring bassist Gregg August and drummer Rudy Royston, through the paces on not only his well-constructed compositions but also through more open improvisatory passages. Allen’s penchant for melody comes through in his compositions and improvisations no matter how far off the beaten path. The trio navigates the music with aplomb and makes Shine! a fantastic addition to JD Allen’s growing discography."