Shmutsige Magnaten: Coleman Plays Gebirtig

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Shmutsige Magnaten: Coleman Plays Gebirtig 37:17 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Mayn Yovl [My Jubilee] [Anthony Coleman] 3:02 $1.49 Buy
2 Mamenyu An Eytse [Mama, I Need Your Advice] [Anthony Coleman] 2:42 $1.49 Buy
3 Kartofl Zup Mit Shvamen [Potato Soup With Mushrooms] [Anthony Coleman] 5:08 44.1/16 Album only
4 Avreml Der Marvikher [Avreml The Thief] [Anthony Coleman] 5:23 44.1/16 Album only
5 Oy Briderl, L'Chaim [Oh Brother, To Life] [Anthony Coleman] 4:34 44.1/16 Album only
6 S'Brent [Our Town Is Burning] [Anthony Coleman] 3:38 $1.49 Buy
7 Hulyet, Hulyet, Kinderlekh [Rejoice, Make Merry, Children] [Anthony Coleman] 1:47 $1.49 Buy
8 S'Izs Gut [It's Good] [Anthony Coleman] 2:34 $1.49 Buy
9 Minuten Fun Betochen-Minuten Fun Yiesh [Mements Of Confidence-Moments Of Despair] [Anthony Coleman] 3:30 $1.49 Buy
10 Oreme Shnayderlekh [Poor Tailors] [Anthony Coleman] 4:59 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Master of madness, wandering poet, dysfunctional genius Anthony Coleman in a magical evening of songs by acclaimed Yiddish composer Mordechai Gebirtig, whose haunting lyrics and melodies became some of the most beloved and popular songs of their time. He was not to survive the Holocaust. Recorded live at midnight in the oldest synagogue of Kracow, Poland, a few steps away from Gebirtig's birthplace, Anthony's masterful readings capture all the awe and mystery of this legendary giant of Jewish Culture. Drawing parallels to the work of Kafka, Bruno Schultz and other Jewish figures of the time this is music at times poignant, at times frightening.

Anthony Coleman: Piano, Voice

Coming soon