Signals, Calls and Marches [Remastered]

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Signals, Calls and Marches [Remastered] 34:48 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Academy Fight Song 3:20 $1.49 Buy
2 Max Ernst 3:11 $1.49 Buy
3 Devotion 3:52 $1.49 Buy
4 Execution 2:32 $1.49 Buy
5 That's When I Reach For My Revolver 4:04 $1.49 Buy
6 Outlaw 2:45 $1.49 Buy
7 Fame And Fortune 3:46 $1.49 Buy
8 This Is Not A Photograph 2:08 $1.49 Buy
9 Red 3:48 $1.49 Buy
10 All World Cowboy Romance 5:22 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

One of America's most important, but most frequently overlooked, punk rock bands, Mission Of Burma released only a handful of records before it disbanded. 1981's SIGNALS, CALLS, AND MARCHES was its debut EP following a seven-inch single, both tracks from which are included on this Ryko CD reissue.

"That's When I Reach for My Revolver," built on Peter Prescott's powerful drumming and Clint Conely's heavy bass guitar, is an incisive look at the moment you realize that what you've been taught and what you know are different things. "Fame & Fortune" features a propulsive drum beat and Roger Miller's jagged guitar work, laced with controlled feedback. Another classic, "This is Not a Photograph," highlights scalding, scalpel-sharp guitars, and ends with a faked record skip. The album's last track, "All World Cowboy Romance," is a pretty, five-minute long instrumental with a number of complex strands and few of the jarring breaks that characterize some of the material preceding it. The two tracks from the band's first seven-inch include the spectacular, frequently covered "Academy Fight Song," one of the all-time high points in American punk rock.

[P]erhaps their strongest statement, opening with the brilliant 'Academy Fight Song' and the anthemic post-punk classic 'That's When I Reach For My Revolver'... - Record Collector magazine