Silver and Ash

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Silver and Ash 47:31 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The Only Way 4:18 $1.49 Buy
2 Baby Boy 4:29 $1.49 Buy
3 Look Close 5:24 $1.49 Buy
4 The World Turns on a Dime 3:54 $1.49 Buy
5 I Will - With You 3:59 $1.49 Buy
6 Goodbye My Love 4:20 $1.49 Buy
7 Everything's Gone 6:26 $1.49 Buy
8 Losin' You 5:00 $1.49 Buy
9 In the Sea 4:35 $1.49 Buy
10 Magpies 5:06 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Clare Burson’s Rounder Records debut, Silver & Ash, is an album that imagines her grandmother's life in Germany, from her birth in 1919 to her escape in 1938. For this project, Burson visited her own childhood home in Memphis, where she conducted interviews with her grandmothers, and ventured to the childhood homes of her ancestors in Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, and the Ukraine. The result of Burson’s travel, research, and ancestral archeology is a stunning album of 10 original songs that inhabit and give life to her grandmother’s story as well as Clare’s own struggles with rupture, silence, guilt, empathy, and continuity. The album was produced by Grammy® nominee Tucker Martine (R.E.M., The Decemberists), and created with the help of her band, Mark Spencer on guitar (Son Volt), Tony Leone on drums (Levon Helm), and Andy Cotton on bass. Burson's lush string arrangements and rich vocals - at times wistful, at times full of desperation, but at all times direct - come together to fill the 10 songs on Silver & Ash with nostalgia and longing.