Simon Andrews: And That Moment When the Bird Sings

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Simon Andrews: And That Moment When the Bird Sings 1:01:15 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Violin Dialogues I & II 16:24 44.1/24 Album only
2 And That Moment When the Bird Sings 07:46 44.1/24 Album only
3 For the Earth Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky: I. Flowing (Live) 03:24 44.1/24 Album only
4 For the Earth Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky: II. Slow, Contemplative (Live) 05:46 44.1/24 Album only
5 For the Earth Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky: III. Cloches (Live) 03:11 44.1/24 Album only
6 For the Earth Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky: IV. And I Have Touched the Sky (Live) 01:17 44.1/24 Album only
7 My Dove, My Coney 04:10 44.1/24 Album only
8 The Heart Has Narrow Banks 03:19 44.1/24 Album only
9 Abiquiu Trio: I. Landscape 04:46 44.1/24 Album only
10 Abiquiu Trio: II. Light 05:30 44.1/24 Album only
11 Abiquiu Trio: III. Untitled (Red and Yellow Cliffs) 05:43 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ 2018 Navona
© 2018 Navona

Simon Andrews has earned a reputation as a creator of eloquent concert music that blends harmonic complexity and lyricism, introversion and broad gestures, and delicate timbres and bold statements. Here, on his recording debut, he offers up 10 compositions, all of which emphasize his proficiency in both vocal and instrumental music. The opening track, Violin Dialogues I and II, presents violin and piano in conversation. The first Dialogue contrasts two sets of ideas, each instrument’s individual voice rising and falling until the two come together in a hard-won consensus. If Dialogue I is oppositional, Dialogue II is conversational, its narrative more about two characters who agree on the destination and differ only on the best way to reach it. The album’s title track, borrowed from the poem “Song” by Seamus Heaney is by turns lyrical and passionate, intimate and robust, as the five performers’ instruments weave their way through various combinations. The four movements of For the earth is hollow and I have touched the sky, is a musical response to a concert which the composer attended at the American Composers Orchestra of music by Frank Zappa. An even more pop-cultural reference is the composition’s title track and fourth movement, which is a musical representation of a quote from an episode of Star Trek, originally “…for the world is hollow and I have touched the sky.” The album’s first track to feature solo voice is My dove, my covey, an early lyrical poem by W.H. Auden, performed by a trio of oboe, violoncello and piano. In similar fashion, The heart has narrow banks, a beautiful poem written by Emily Dickenson, was chosen by the composer because it allowed him to create a more flexible harmonic language that could express lyrics such as “blue monotony” and “a wall of unattempted gauze” while keeping a consistent musical thread throughout. Inspired by a visit to New Mexico, Abiquiu Trio displays the impact of the desert landscape and the work of Georgia O’Keeffe on Andrews. The language of all three movements is a response to different facets of those two influences. The music of the piece’s final movement, begun during a short stay at Christ in the Desert, a living monastery where church services are intoned to Gregorian chants, is a strong reminder that in addition to his more secular work, Andrews is also noted for his compositions of church music.