Simply Natural

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Simply Natural 59:22 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Simply Natural 04:56 $1.49 Buy
2 Tulip or Turnip 04:59 $1.49 Buy
3 Weak For The Man 07:05 44.1/16 Album only
4 Watermelon Man 06:31 $1.49 Buy
5 Strong Man 04:40 $1.49 Buy
6 Something 'Bout Believing 05:28 $1.49 Buy
7 Scarborough Fair 05:23 $1.49 Buy
8 Are You With Me 03:58 $1.49 Buy
9 Summer (Estate) 05:18 $1.49 Buy
10 Still Gotta Thing For You 06:04 $1.49 Buy
11 I Can't Give You Anything But Love 05:00 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Simply Natural is the name of Carla Cook's third release on MAXJAZZ and aptly describes her approach to singing. Her diverse range and vocal style has garnered her several awards and top billing on the concert and festival circuit throughout the world including performances with the Lionel Hampton Orchestra. This collection of songs provides a vehicle for her reinterpretation of such jazz compositions as Duke Ellington's obscure gems "Tulip or Turnip" and "Something 'Bout Believing." Cook contributes two gems of her own, the title track "Simply Natural" -- a beautiful piece that features two highly creative solos from pianist Cyrus Chestnut. He sets a cool fire underneath the meter changes, harmonic rhythm, and phrasings offered by the vocalist. "Still Gotta Thing for You," a mid-tempo blues with Cook's vocals overdubbed as background vocals, and a sonic update from Chestnut on Fender Rhodes, is still relevant today even though she wrote it in 1992. The closing song, "I Can't Give You Anything but Love," swings and brilliantly spotlights the techniques she uses to construct phrases. Overall, with the accompaniment of such great musicians as Bruce Barth on piano, Kenny Davis on electric and acoustic basses, and Billy Kilson on drums, Cook serves her listeners 11 coherent musical statements that tend to satisfy both the intellectual and emotional needs of artistic creation with a refreshing rhythmic variety.

"Her third album is her best yet, partly because her improvisatory yet tasteful phrasing continues to deepen in authority and her unique eye for material is growing sharper." - Detroit Free Press