Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Slickrock 1:08:26 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 You And The Night And The Music 04:41 $1.49 Buy
2 Wishing On The Moon 09:45 44.1/16 Album only
3 Every Which Way 06:59 44.1/16 Album only
4 Put Your Little Foot Right Out 03:44 $1.49 Buy
5 It Could Happen To You 05:59 $1.49 Buy
6 Body And Soul 08:05 44.1/16 Album only
7 Sweet Georgia Brown 04:43 $1.49 Buy
8 E.S.P. 04:58 $1.49 Buy
9 Just Passing By 03:41 $1.49 Buy
10 Dawn; Gathering (Slickrock) 02:37 $1.49 Buy
11 On The Trail (Slickrock) 05:11 $1.49 Buy
12 Recovery (Slickrock) 05:19 $1.49 Buy
13 On The Trail Again (Slickrock) 02:44 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Joined by Buster Williams and Matt Wilson, Zeitlin almost evenly divides Slickrock between original compositions and reworked standards. Opening the CD with "You And The Night And The Music," Zeitlin spends little more than half a chorus referring to the melody before he veers into self generated counterpoints and then various detours that eventually merge at the end into the melody again, like the flow of a herringbone chart. Beyond the exquisite piano playing, though, which brings out the music with Zeitlin's sure sense of touch and coruscating command of the entire keyboard, it becomes apparent that Williams and Wilson are entirely engaged in the music. Williams' bass lines are solid with buoyancy that sustains the motion. Wilson spontaneously captures the textures of Zeitlin's music and heightens them through the sensitive extension of tones with lightly shimmering cymbal work or driving malleting, ever conscious of the need to help fulfill the thoughts of Zeitlin rather than rolling over them. In other words, the trio plays as a cohesive unit as Zeitlin's virtuosity spurs Williams and Wilson to a state of intense focus.

"Zeitlin remains an extraordinarily sensitive and brilliantly virtuosic pianist and composer, as attested to on his recent 'Slickrock'." - Down Beat