Solo Voyage

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Solo Voyage 1:05:13 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bemsha Swing 04:49 $1.49 Buy
2 Miyako 05:41 $1.49 Buy
3 Cascade 08:52 44.1/16 Album only
4 Quiet Now 12:13 44.1/16 Album only
5 Walking, Prancing, Marching, Dancing 04:14 $1.49 Buy
6 Prelude 02:12 $1.49 Buy
7 In Your Own Sweet Way 03:43 $1.49 Buy
8 I Should Care 06:27 $1.49 Buy
9 Interlude 1 01:47 $1.49 Buy
10 Lament 03:02 $1.49 Buy
11 Interlude 2 03:51 $1.49 Buy
12 Moving Parts 1 04:14 $1.49 Buy
13 Moving Parts 2 04:08 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

His third solo recording, Solo Voyage, has just been released by MAXJAZZ, and it features an engaging amalgam of his originals and compositions by some of his favorite composers, including Thelonious Monk and Wayne Shorter.

The centerpiece of the recording is the title track, a twenty nine minute suite that includes eight compositions designed to be played all at once, or separately. In addition to acoustic piano, Zeitlin augments this unique musical montage with some very tasteful synthesizer. Zeitlin created Solo Voyage as a homage to his lifelong friend, Bill Young, who passed away during the recording and the music has a strong emotional component.

"Solo Voyage finds Zeitlin comfortably mixing well-known tunes like Dave Brubeck's 'In Your Own Sweet Way,' Wayne Shorter's less-recorded 'Miyako,' and Monk's 'Bemsha Swing' with his own compositions and a number of free improvisations. Zeitlin embraces a complete view of the jazz tradition, with an evolved sense of stride propelling 'Cascade' and a more abstract impressionism characterizing the gentle 'Quiet Now.' He's also not averse to embracing technology, utilizing synthesizers to either create subtle orchestration, as he does on 'Prelude,' or to provide a sequenced backdrop for his imaginative reading of 'In Your Own Sweet Way.' - All About Jazz