STRAUSS: Ein Heldenleben / WEBERN: Im Sommerwind

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
STRAUSS: Ein Heldenleben / WEBERN: Im Sommerwind 54:30 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 STRAUSS: Der Held (The Hero) 4:11 $2.49 Buy
2 STRAUSS: Des Helden Widersacher (The Hero's Enemies) 3:21 $2.49 Buy
3 STRAUSS: Des Helden Gefahrtin (The Hero's Companion) 5:24 $2.49 Buy
4 STRAUSS: The Love Scen 5:34 $2.49 Buy
5 STRAUSS: Des Helden Walstatt (The Hero's Field of Battle) 9:16 $2.49 Buy
6 STRAUSS: Des Helden Friedenswerke (The Hero's Works of Peace 4:19 $2.49 Buy
7 STRAUSS: Des Helden Weltflucht und Vollendung (The Hero's Withdrawal from the World) 9:44 96/24 Album only
8 WEBERN: Im Sommerwind 12:41 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

“Haitink worked his customary miracles on behalf of Richard Strauss and the CSO gave him what it always gives him: superb and deeply felt playing.” —Chicago Tribune

“[In Webern’s Im Sommerwind,] Haitink asked for a refined beauty of sound and got it in abundance.” —Chicago Tribune

This album from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, considered one of the world’s greatest Strauss ensembles, features Ein Heldenleben (A Hero's Life) whose US premiere it gave in 1900. The CSO pours out a lush interpretation of Richard Strauss’s large and complex tone poem in their newest live recording; Principal Conductor Bernard Haitink leads with restraint and allows the strings and woodwinds to sing. In the famous Battle Scene, the brass and percussion roar, while concertmaster Robert Chen plays his violin solos depicting Strauss’s wife with tender beauty. Webern’s early tone poem Im Sommerwind is indebted to Strauss’s rhapsodic romanticism, overflowing with spacious melodies.