STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces (Stravinsky, Vol. 1)

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
STRAVINSKY: Oedipus Rex / Les Noces (Stravinsky, Vol. 1) 1:17:00 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Prologue (Oedipus Rex) 7:52 44.1/16 Album only
2 Introducing Creon (Oedipus Rex) 7:52 44.1/16 Album only
3 Introducing Tiresias (Oedipus Rex) 9:59 44.1/16 Album only
4 Introducing Jocasta (Oedipus Rex) 11:07 44.1/16 Album only
5 Introducing the Messenger (Oedipus Rex) 9:08 44.1/16 Album only
6 Epilogue (Oedipus Rex) 6:50 44.1/16 Album only
7 Scene 1: The Tresses (At the Bride's House) (Les Noces (The Wedding)) 5:05 $1.49 Buy
8 Scene 2: At the Bridegroom's House (Les Noces (The Wedding)) 5:43 $1.49 Buy
9 Scene 3: The Departure of the Bride (Les Noces (The Wedding)) 3:05 $1.49 Buy
10 Scene 4: The Wedding Feast (Les Noces (The Wedding)) 10:19 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Oedipus Rex, based on Sophocles’ tragedy, is an established twentieth-century classic. Employing a speaker, male chorus and orchestra, it represents Stravinsky’s 1920s neo-classicism at its peak. Les Noces, an amalgam of ballet and dance cantata in four scenes for solo voices, chorus, four pianos and seventeen percussion instruments, depicts a Russian peasant wedding. One of only two theatrical works by Stravinsky to combine music with a text in his mother tongue, Les Noces is also his most Russian work, in which ritual, symbol and meaning on every level are part of his direct cultural heredity.

An enormously enjoyable and, for all admirers of this central figure of 20th century music, indispensable addition to the Stravinsky discography." - Gwyn Parry-Jones, MusicWeb International