Surfer Rosa

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

  • Title: Surfer Rosa
  • Artist: Pixies
  • Genre: Rock
  • Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: 1988
Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Surfer Rosa 35:35 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bone Machine (Remastered) 3:12 $1.49 Buy
2 Break My Body (Remastered) 2:15 $1.49 Buy
3 Something Against You (Remastered) 1:57 $1.49 Buy
4 Broken Face (Remastered) 1:39 $1.49 Buy
5 Gigantic (Remastered) 4:04 $1.49 Buy
6 River Euphrates (Remastered) 2:42 $1.49 Buy
7 Where Is My Mind? (Remastered) 4:04 $1.49 Buy
8 Cactus (Remastered) 2:25 $1.49 Buy
9 Tony's Theme (Remastered) 2:02 $1.49 Buy
10 Oh My Golly! (Remastered) 2:42 $1.49 Buy
11 Vamos (Surfer Rosa) (Remastered) 4:32 $1.49 Buy
12 I'm Amazed (Remastered) 1:52 $1.49 Buy
13 Brick Is Red (Remastered) 2:09 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Now seen as an important alternative band of the 80s, it is a pity they were not more appreciated at the time. The Boston-based Pixies exploded into life with this abrasive selection. Produced by enfant terrible Steve Albini, the album emphasized the quartet's scratchy tension. A vicious drum sound underpins the group's uncanny blend of urgency and melody, where Black Francis's rabid intonation contrasts with Kim Deal's more gentle perspective. Obtuse lyrics and barely controlled guitar accentuate the Pixies' uncompromising visions and emphasize an approach that both excites and intrigues. Terse, exhilarating and single-minded, SURFER ROSA is an audacious collection.

Ranked #26 in Q's "Best 50 Albums of Q's Lifetime"

Ranked #14 among The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s. - NME

'Broken Face' and 'Break My Body' harness loneliness and self-loathing to images of deformation -- Pixies perennials; and 'Cactus' smolders with lust. - Blender